Peanut Butter Bananas and Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Hmmm, not sure I'm totally on board with this one. If I make it again, I'll cut the vinegar in half because that's what I wasn't really wild about. I love sweet-sour combos, but this just didn't completely work for me. It's fun, it's pretty, it's different, it's fast, and those are all good things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I love vinegar and the combination with the sweet bananas and the peanut butter...I made it for my toddler (she also enjoyed it) but found myself eating more than I had intended. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I started out making it like the recipe calls for, but then I decided to do my own thing to it and put the 1/3 cup of peanut butter in with the sauce and just a splash of maple syrup... poured it over the bananas with peanut butter and it was pretty good. My daughter had two helpings of it... The peanut butter sauce was more like a peanut butter fudge...but not set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
It wasn't quite what i expected. The vinigar was extremely strong. Maybe if there wasn't so much vinigar it would be good. Still it was very interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I haven't made this yet, but my grandmother used to make a Banana/Peanut salad. You might try mixing the Peanut Butter in the sauce, and then LAYER it along with chopped peanuts over sliced bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was interesting. I made it as a side dish, but it should probably be a snack or dessert. It's got an interesting flavor and might be good over some angel food cake, but was strange all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This is an interesting dish. It wasn't "bad" but after a couple bites I had enough of the sauce. I ended up wasting practically all of the sauce this recipe makes. I won't be making it again-but do give it a try and see if you like the sauce yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
It may sound weird, but it really tastes good! My whole family loves it. It is a great side dish to those casseroles that have "everything" in them! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This is one of those "out-of-this-world" dishes. The combination of ingredients is so different! I also like the versatility -- we had it as a hot side dish with Banana Meatloaf, but I can easily see putting the prepared banana pieces in the freezer until serving time, then using the sauce as a dip. This is definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States