Peanut Butter Banana Protein Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
For those of us who gave up on bland store bought protein bars, these are really great, quick and easy! I made them but doubled the honey as suggested by reviewers. They were delicious but way too messy to spread. Try the original recipe before tweaking and THEN add more honey if necessary. Also whole flax is just fine--no need to pulverize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I added about 3 extra tablespoons of honey, a handful of sliced almonds, and I took out around 1/4 cup of the oat protein mixture. These are very dense and dry when you follow the exact recipe so I would suggest tweaking it to your own personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These are great, I did double the honey as recommended...turned out perfectly. Made a second batch a put in Karob Chips turned out just as good. Moist and not crumbly. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's my new go to for protein bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I've been making this recipe for about a year now and still love it! I make preformed bars each bar is 1/3 cup. It meets my desired over 20 grams of protein requirement as a before or after workout meal replacement. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davenie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Love it! I added 1 tbsp of cinnamon, 1 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa and used chocolate protein powder instead of vanilla...scrumptious!! I had gastric bypass surgery and needed to get more protein in when I started back to work, these are great to eat during my commute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Loved these bars and I make them every two weeks now. I work out a lot and hate eating food I have to unwrap, so these are perfect. I add 1/3 cup of wheat germ, 1/3 cup of ground flax seed, ram it full of chopped almonds, two eggs, vanilla and double the honey. I add apples sauce if I have it but not required, these taste great. Once cut up, I freeze the entire batch in a large freezer bag and pick one out a day, they don't last long in the house because the kids love them also. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is great!! I followed the recipe and doubled the honey for a sweeter bar. I also added a handful on mini semi sweet chocolate chips...I am who I am!! Does anyone know how long these keep in the fridge for? I'm thinking about freezing some of the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I noticed a lot of reviewers said it was a little dry and I like my protein bars chewy so I added a small container of applesauce and baked it a little longer. I also added some cinnamon, two packets of the Stevia sweetners, and some Oat Bran to thicken it up as the applesauce made a little runny. They turned out GREAT! :) Next time I'll try using crunchy peanut butter for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Every two weeks I make this recipe as is but add 3x the flax seed. It's never been crumbly while mixing or after baking, it's between chewy and crisp. Always very filling and satisfying. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I've never made my own protein bars before and was excited to try this out. I added a 1/2 T of wheat bran and used maybe 1 t bit of pure maple syrup (although I think I will add more of it next time, half honey half maple maybe). I used a vanilla protein powder, as I am not a huge fan of the fact that you can hardly ever find protein bars in stores without chocolate. The batter was very sticky, so I recommend dusting your hands with flour when pressing it into a pan. But, the flavor was great, especially since I'm not a huge fan of sweets. I'm thinking of adding some chopped nuts, dried fruit, applesauce, egg whites or maybe even a strawberry protein powder (peanut butter and jelly, anyone?) next time. I also have a multigrain hot cereal that would be great in place of the oats, especially since oats are already in the mix. I'll definitely have fun experimenting with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SekushiXelda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States