Peanut Butter Banana Protein Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Just made these and they are very good. I added 2 tblspn Cinnamon and instead of flax seed, I grounded some almonds, soy nuts, pumpkin kernels and dried cranberries from a trail mix. Next time I will ground the oatmeal as well to try a different texture. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family really liked these. They're not sweet, but thats obviously not the intent of this healthy snack. If you prefer a sweet bar, I'd suggest adding some raisins or dried fruit; cheeries, or cranberries would be tasty! Mine were nice & soft w/ perfect texture. Perhaps the other rater who indicated hers were crumbly spread them too thin? Thanx "So NumberNine!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is the first recipe I've used to make my own protein bars. I used 1 package (35g) of vanilla and 1 package of chocolate protein by Vega Sport, Naturally More Peanut Butter which is great as it already contains flax seed, honey and egg white, added some chopped walnuts, dried cranberries and other fruit and nuts from trailmix. I also added a bit more honey and heated it a bit with peanut butter to make it more liquid and easier to mix with dry ingredients. The bars turned out great (chewy!), I can't wait to take them on my next hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this recipe as written and doubled the honey as suggested by the author for a sweeter bar. They turned out great... moist, not too crumbly, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is great!! I followed the recipe and doubled the honey for a sweeter bar. I also added a handful on mini semi sweet chocolate chips...I am who I am!! Does anyone know how long these keep in the fridge for? I'm thinking about freezing some of the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Loved these bars and I make them every two weeks now. I work out a lot and hate eating food I have to unwrap, so these are perfect. I add 1/3 cup of wheat germ, 1/3 cup of ground flax seed, ram it full of chopped almonds, two eggs, vanilla and double the honey. I add apples sauce if I have it but not required, these taste great. Once cut up, I freeze the entire batch in a large freezer bag and pick one out a day, they don't last long in the house because the kids love them also. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I've been making this recipe for about a year now and still love it! I make preformed bars each bar is 1/3 cup. It meets my desired over 20 grams of protein requirement as a before or after workout meal replacement. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davenie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were really good. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I may take some of the other reviewers advice and add some cranberries or other dried fruit next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Every two weeks I make this recipe as is but add 3x the flax seed. It's never been crumbly while mixing or after baking, it's between chewy and crisp. Always very filling and satisfying. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I noticed a lot of reviewers said it was a little dry and I like my protein bars chewy so I added a small container of applesauce and baked it a little longer. I also added some cinnamon, two packets of the Stevia sweetners, and some Oat Bran to thicken it up as the applesauce made a little runny. They turned out GREAT! :) Next time I'll try using crunchy peanut butter for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States