Peanut Butter Banana Protein Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Made these with my daughter today...The kids loved them but they were very crumbly. I will add more honey next time. (I wasn't watching when she put in the oats so she may have added too much too.) The kids (Ages 12, 10 and 7) Loved them and asked for seconds. They thought it would be really good in milk too. You can really taste the peanut butter, honey and the bananas too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Very easy recipe and these protein bars turned out very good. I added 1T of vanilla and 1T of cocoa powder also to bump up some flavour since my protein powder is flavourless. Mine didn't turn out crumbly but they are crunchy. I may add some applesauce next time and see if I get a chewier bar. Overall, very good recipe for protein bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Just made these and they are very good. I added 2 tblspn Cinnamon and instead of flax seed, I grounded some almonds, soy nuts, pumpkin kernels and dried cranberries from a trail mix. Next time I will ground the oatmeal as well to try a different texture. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family really liked these. They're not sweet, but thats obviously not the intent of this healthy snack. If you prefer a sweet bar, I'd suggest adding some raisins or dried fruit; cheeries, or cranberries would be tasty! Mine were nice & soft w/ perfect texture. Perhaps the other rater who indicated hers were crumbly spread them too thin? Thanx "So NumberNine!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
the batter was really crumbly so I had to add about 1/2 cup more honey and some applesauce to it. I also added some cinnamon for taste. I think these bars have some potential... i'm gonna play around with the flavors a bit as I still found them on the bland side even after adding all that honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this recipe as written and doubled the honey as suggested by the author for a sweeter bar. They turned out great... moist, not too crumbly, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My picky teenage boys even liked these. They were a little dry so next time I will probably add some apple sauce to the mix. I added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Good stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Humancannonball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is the first recipe I've used to make my own protein bars. I used 1 package (35g) of vanilla and 1 package of chocolate protein by Vega Sport, Naturally More Peanut Butter which is great as it already contains flax seed, honey and egg white, added some chopped walnuts, dried cranberries and other fruit and nuts from trailmix. I also added a bit more honey and heated it a bit with peanut butter to make it more liquid and easier to mix with dry ingredients. The bars turned out great (chewy!), I can't wait to take them on my next hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were really good. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I may take some of the other reviewers advice and add some cranberries or other dried fruit next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was just what I was looking for! I had chocolate protein powder, so I used that, plus about 1T. cocoa powder to boost the flavor. I also added about 1/2 c. craisins. Because so many reviewers commented on the dryness, I added a few (2) more previously frozen bananas, to add moisture. I convected them at 350 degrees for about 8-9 min. Next time I will use crunchy peanut butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States