Peanut Butter Banana Protein Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Loved these bars and I make them every two weeks now. I work out a lot and hate eating food I have to unwrap, so these are perfect. I add 1/3 cup of wheat germ, 1/3 cup of ground flax seed, ram it full of chopped almonds, two eggs, vanilla and double the honey. I add apples sauce if I have it but not required, these taste great. Once cut up, I freeze the entire batch in a large freezer bag and pick one out a day, they don't last long in the house because the kids love them also. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is great!! I followed the recipe and doubled the honey for a sweeter bar. I also added a handful on mini semi sweet chocolate chips...I am who I am!! Does anyone know how long these keep in the fridge for? I'm thinking about freezing some of the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I noticed a lot of reviewers said it was a little dry and I like my protein bars chewy so I added a small container of applesauce and baked it a little longer. I also added some cinnamon, two packets of the Stevia sweetners, and some Oat Bran to thicken it up as the applesauce made a little runny. They turned out GREAT! :) Next time I'll try using crunchy peanut butter for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Every two weeks I make this recipe as is but add 3x the flax seed. It's never been crumbly while mixing or after baking, it's between chewy and crisp. Always very filling and satisfying. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I've never made my own protein bars before and was excited to try this out. I added a 1/2 T of wheat bran and used maybe 1 t bit of pure maple syrup (although I think I will add more of it next time, half honey half maple maybe). I used a vanilla protein powder, as I am not a huge fan of the fact that you can hardly ever find protein bars in stores without chocolate. The batter was very sticky, so I recommend dusting your hands with flour when pressing it into a pan. But, the flavor was great, especially since I'm not a huge fan of sweets. I'm thinking of adding some chopped nuts, dried fruit, applesauce, egg whites or maybe even a strawberry protein powder (peanut butter and jelly, anyone?) next time. I also have a multigrain hot cereal that would be great in place of the oats, especially since oats are already in the mix. I'll definitely have fun experimenting with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SekushiXelda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These are very tasty and easy to make. Also, they are really filling. They are a little dry, so I added 1/2 cup of apple sauce, and a little sugar free maple syrup. Cinnamon would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was just what I was looking for! I had chocolate protein powder, so I used that, plus about 1T. cocoa powder to boost the flavor. I also added about 1/2 c. craisins. Because so many reviewers commented on the dryness, I added a few (2) more previously frozen bananas, to add moisture. I convected them at 350 degrees for about 8-9 min. Next time I will use crunchy peanut butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were really good. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I may take some of the other reviewers advice and add some cranberries or other dried fruit next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is the first recipe I've used to make my own protein bars. I used 1 package (35g) of vanilla and 1 package of chocolate protein by Vega Sport, Naturally More Peanut Butter which is great as it already contains flax seed, honey and egg white, added some chopped walnuts, dried cranberries and other fruit and nuts from trailmix. I also added a bit more honey and heated it a bit with peanut butter to make it more liquid and easier to mix with dry ingredients. The bars turned out great (chewy!), I can't wait to take them on my next hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My picky teenage boys even liked these. They were a little dry so next time I will probably add some apple sauce to the mix. I added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Good stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Humancannonball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States