Peanut Butter Banana Protein Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Every two weeks I make this recipe as is but add 3x the flax seed. It's never been crumbly while mixing or after baking, it's between chewy and crisp. Always very filling and satisfying. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I've never made my own protein bars before and was excited to try this out. I added a 1/2 T of wheat bran and used maybe 1 t bit of pure maple syrup (although I think I will add more of it next time, half honey half maple maybe). I used a vanilla protein powder, as I am not a huge fan of the fact that you can hardly ever find protein bars in stores without chocolate. The batter was very sticky, so I recommend dusting your hands with flour when pressing it into a pan. But, the flavor was great, especially since I'm not a huge fan of sweets. I'm thinking of adding some chopped nuts, dried fruit, applesauce, egg whites or maybe even a strawberry protein powder (peanut butter and jelly, anyone?) next time. I also have a multigrain hot cereal that would be great in place of the oats, especially since oats are already in the mix. I'll definitely have fun experimenting with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SekushiXelda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These are very tasty and easy to make. Also, they are really filling. They are a little dry, so I added 1/2 cup of apple sauce, and a little sugar free maple syrup. Cinnamon would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was just what I was looking for! I had chocolate protein powder, so I used that, plus about 1T. cocoa powder to boost the flavor. I also added about 1/2 c. craisins. Because so many reviewers commented on the dryness, I added a few (2) more previously frozen bananas, to add moisture. I convected them at 350 degrees for about 8-9 min. Next time I will use crunchy peanut butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were really good. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I may take some of the other reviewers advice and add some cranberries or other dried fruit next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is the first recipe I've used to make my own protein bars. I used 1 package (35g) of vanilla and 1 package of chocolate protein by Vega Sport, Naturally More Peanut Butter which is great as it already contains flax seed, honey and egg white, added some chopped walnuts, dried cranberries and other fruit and nuts from trailmix. I also added a bit more honey and heated it a bit with peanut butter to make it more liquid and easier to mix with dry ingredients. The bars turned out great (chewy!), I can't wait to take them on my next hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My picky teenage boys even liked these. They were a little dry so next time I will probably add some apple sauce to the mix. I added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Good stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Humancannonball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this recipe as written and doubled the honey as suggested by the author for a sweeter bar. They turned out great... moist, not too crumbly, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
the batter was really crumbly so I had to add about 1/2 cup more honey and some applesauce to it. I also added some cinnamon for taste. I think these bars have some potential... i'm gonna play around with the flavors a bit as I still found them on the bland side even after adding all that honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family really liked these. They're not sweet, but thats obviously not the intent of this healthy snack. If you prefer a sweet bar, I'd suggest adding some raisins or dried fruit; cheeries, or cranberries would be tasty! Mine were nice & soft w/ perfect texture. Perhaps the other rater who indicated hers were crumbly spread them too thin? Thanx "So NumberNine!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States