Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Raisin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
EXCELLENT!!I made some changes though. Read other reviews about dryness I think I solved that. First of all I used 3 very ripe bananas instead of 1 that increases moisture quite a bit. I heaped the peaunt butter I used 2 whole eggs instead of just the whites. Also I used 1 cup of the wheat flour and 1 heaping cup of the white flour. I added 1/2 tsp salt and skipped the raisins. They were cakelike but tons of PB and banana flavor, so good. And the oatmeal made them chewy. Also I cooked them at 350 for about 8-9 minutes but I have a hot oven you just gotta watch them and don't overcook. Thanks for a great recipe Gretchen!!:>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
So basically these cookies are amazing and delicious. For those who want a definite banana flavor to these, make sure you use a brown, overripe banana and you'll get the nice taste of it in the cookies. I did make some modifications, and they still came out excellent. First I cut back on the white sguar by 1/4 cup, added 1 t cinnamon, used chunky PB and left out the raisins entirely. I baked these at 325 for about 18 minutes and they were just perfect. With my modifications there are 114 calories/cookie with almost 3 grams of protein and 2 grams of fiber. Super tasty, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is an awesome recipie for using old bananas. I made a few changes and still the cookies turned out extremly well- I used 2 1/2 very ripe bananas,3/4 cup light brown sugar, only 1/4 cup of white sugar, (to give a chewy texture) 2 whole eggs, 1 1/2 cups self rising flour - I didn't have any other kind, 1 cup of instant oats and 1 cup of raisins... I mixed ingredients according to directions then put the dough into the refridgerator for 10 minutes to chill, used a silicone baking mat, then baked at 350 degrees for 9-12 minutes. My cookies came out wonderfully and had a cake like texture but I didn't mind at all. Great recipie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
these are my favorite healthy cookies and i make them all the time! i make some alterations: i cut back on the white sugar (only 1/4 cup) but keep the 1/2 cup brown sugar, and i use 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of oats. this makes the cookies softer and more moist. if cookies don't flatten on their own, you can flatten with a fork before baking. they make a GREAT snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I had to omit, add and cheat a bit with this recipe, but it still turned out fantastic! I used two bananas, about a cup of peanut butter, two whole eggs and did not add in raisins because I was out. I love that these cookies are healthy, don't require any butter, so I feel a bit less guilty letting my girls, and myself, munch on a few at a time. I will definitely try to make this as written. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Yum! I love the consistency of these cookies - crispy/crusty on the outside and chewy inside. I used 3 bananas, which sweetened them enough where I can probably reduce the sugar next time. Beware if you increase the bananas, though - the peanut butter flavor won't come through as much. Adding some chopped peanuts might do the trick. Also, I subsituted Splenda for all of the sugar, added the yoke from one of the eggs, and added 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed. Half a cup of raisins was plenty, especially if you plump them first (I covered them with water and microwaved for 30 seconds). These could also use a pinch of salt but were fine without. Overall, these were a terrific, wholesome snack and were perfection with a glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This is a VERY yummy cookie. I read through the other reviews and this was what I modified: I used 2 eggs not just whites. I used 1cup wheat and 1cup all purpose flour. 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tsps soda. They are really chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These were great! I gave my 3 year old cousin a choice between this cookie and plain chocolate, and she wanted the cookie! I tweeked the recipe with help from a few reviews. I followed what they said and switched the original ingredients to 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 cup flour, and 2 cups oats. With these adjustments, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by disneylover111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
my kids & i really enjoyed these! i substituted 1/2 c honey for all of the sugar, added 2 bananas instead of 1, 2 whole eggs, 1t vanilla, 1/3c vanilla yogurt & only 1/2c oats. i baked them at 325 for 11 1/2 minutes, & they turned out cakey & soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
more like muffin tops than cookies but they are still good. doubled bananas, reduced to 1/4 c sugar, omitted raisins (didn't have any) and added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla. baked at 325 degrees for 18 minutes - these are all suggestions others made. good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States