Peanut Butter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Add SALT! The other changes that people suggested were good: add a bit more sugar and flour, and I put 1 cup of banana, but the biggest issue is that there was no salt in this recipe. I'm a huge muffin baker, and almost every recipe you will find will have from 1/2tsp to 1 tsp of salt in it. I also added some spices, as suggested. Great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very good muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used 3/4 cup of mashed banana and peanut butter (I used Skippy's Reduced Fat) and added a little more flour. They were so good! Oh, and I think my addition of chocolate chips (instead of the sweet topping) helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I added more peanut butter and more banana as other reviewers had suggested and while I could taste each element and the muffins turned out very moist, they were just BLAH. I do not think that a muffin texture is strong enough to handle peanut butter AND banana (and I even added in a 1/2 cup oats for some texture!) This needs to be modified into a cookie and then maybe it would be worth eating. I gave it two stars because it was a great tender & moist muffin and the protein kept us going in the mornings. The flavor just wasn't there. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I really liked the basic recipe. I did add a pinch of salt, plus 1/2 c. milk chocolate chips; and I also substituted crunchy peanut butter. Rather than the streusel topping, I just used sanding sugar. Next time I will try making them with whole wheat flour and topping them with chopped, salted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I added a whole large mashed banana. I made no other changes. I think if I hadn't added the whole banana, the batter would have been too dry. My kids and husband ate these but didn't seem to be overly excited about them. This was a good way to use up peanut butter, oatmeal and banana....I just think it needs a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Yummy! Despite the negative reviews, I followed the orignal recipe. They are delicious. I did use a very ripe banana, they were sweet. For those who want to change it up, you could add peanut butter chips or chopped peanuts, or both. You could also use granola cereal for the streusel topping. I am calorie/fat conscious so I prefer the orginal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Used almost a cup each of the peanut butter and really ripe bananas and some extra brown sugar. I used half all-purpose flour and half white whole wheat flour and added dark chocolate chips. Pretty good but the flavor is very subtle. Made 40 mini muffins. Would probably make these again for a change of pace or when I want some extra protein in my breakfast but I like my modified "banana banana bread" recipe better. (The flavor shows up the next day. My husband loved these. They peanut butter intensified over time until it overpowered my desire to eat them but he chowed them down by himself. I thought they peaked within a day or so.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
It was fairly good, not bad, but not great. There was something missing and I can't put my finger upon it. I followed the recipe and the batter was a bit soupy. So I added 1/4 cup more flour and 1/4 cup more oats. They were nice and fluffy and not hard, dense, or gooey. I'll keep this recipe and tweak it until I have perfected it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My 2 yr old and 4 yr old LOVE these muffins! I had to hid the container of them. otherwise they would have eaten all of them the first day! I did follow the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of PB and bananas to about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

A refreshing smoothie, perfect for breakfast or snack-time.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States