Peanut Butter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used 3/4 cup of mashed banana and peanut butter (I used Skippy's Reduced Fat) and added a little more flour. They were so good! Oh, and I think my addition of chocolate chips (instead of the sweet topping) helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I added more peanut butter and more banana as other reviewers had suggested and while I could taste each element and the muffins turned out very moist, they were just BLAH. I do not think that a muffin texture is strong enough to handle peanut butter AND banana (and I even added in a 1/2 cup oats for some texture!) This needs to be modified into a cookie and then maybe it would be worth eating. I gave it two stars because it was a great tender & moist muffin and the protein kept us going in the mornings. The flavor just wasn't there. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I really liked the basic recipe. I did add a pinch of salt, plus 1/2 c. milk chocolate chips; and I also substituted crunchy peanut butter. Rather than the streusel topping, I just used sanding sugar. Next time I will try making them with whole wheat flour and topping them with chopped, salted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I added a whole large mashed banana. I made no other changes. I think if I hadn't added the whole banana, the batter would have been too dry. My kids and husband ate these but didn't seem to be overly excited about them. This was a good way to use up peanut butter, oatmeal and banana....I just think it needs a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Yummy! Despite the negative reviews, I followed the orignal recipe. They are delicious. I did use a very ripe banana, they were sweet. For those who want to change it up, you could add peanut butter chips or chopped peanuts, or both. You could also use granola cereal for the streusel topping. I am calorie/fat conscious so I prefer the orginal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Used almost a cup each of the peanut butter and really ripe bananas and some extra brown sugar. I used half all-purpose flour and half white whole wheat flour and added dark chocolate chips. Pretty good but the flavor is very subtle. Made 40 mini muffins. Would probably make these again for a change of pace or when I want some extra protein in my breakfast but I like my modified "banana banana bread" recipe better. (The flavor shows up the next day. My husband loved these. They peanut butter intensified over time until it overpowered my desire to eat them but he chowed them down by himself. I thought they peaked within a day or so.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
It was fairly good, not bad, but not great. There was something missing and I can't put my finger upon it. I followed the recipe and the batter was a bit soupy. So I added 1/4 cup more flour and 1/4 cup more oats. They were nice and fluffy and not hard, dense, or gooey. I'll keep this recipe and tweak it until I have perfected it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My 2 yr old and 4 yr old LOVE these muffins! I had to hid the container of them. otherwise they would have eaten all of them the first day! I did follow the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of PB and bananas to about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
The consistency was fine- moist and appealing. I also doubled bananas and peanut butter. But if you are using natural PB as I did, you will likely end up with banana flavored doggie bisquits. Go with the Jiff for this one folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tohaveaplan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Really liked these! I cooked it in a 9x9 pan, my husband ate these in two days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paracana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States