Peanut Butter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I thought these were great. I skipped the topping. I found that there was a very nice balance of flavors and wouldn't change either proportion. I like that there is very little added sugar and fat besides the PB. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These turned out really good. I came across this recipe when I had already started making a similiar one for cookies. I decided to switch to this. I used this recipe as a base, and then changed things up a little to use what I had on hand. I left out the egg, and used apple sauce, also, I only had one banana, so added a jar of banana cream pie baby food dessert(I know sounds strange), for added flavor and texture. I had no butter or margarine, so left out the topping all together....added a bit more sugar and peanut butter, and used maple syrup (in place of the vanilla), as I already had it in the bowel from the previous recipe I had started. I baked them just a little longer. They turned out a bit flat, but just the right crispness on the outside, and moist but just the right amount of chewy inside. I topped with a bit of jam and served warm....My daughter loves them!...overall, I think this recipe makes a great starting point, and leaves a lot of room fro adjustment for ingredients and personaly taste...Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I really liked these muffins. They are a little squishy feeling when fresh out of the oven but a few hours later the texture was perfect! I added extra oatmeal (on accident) and more bananas and I really liked them. My friends enjoyed them also and my 17 month old charge loved them also (he's the toughest critic)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StillSwirling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I have to go with a lot of other reviewers and say these muffins were on the bland side. They were, however, very moist and I could taste the peanut butter and bananas. The topping was too moist & sticky to be "sprinkled" over the top, but I managed. With a little more flavor these muffins would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I read most of the other reviews and bsse the four stars on the changes I made. I, like many people increased the peanut butter (crunchy) and banana to 3/4 cup and the brown sugar to 2/3 cup. I always substitute applesauce for oil in muffin recipes also. Added 1/4 tsp cinammon and added about 3/4 cup of toasted walnuts to the strusel topping as well. Finally, increased the vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp. Quite a few changes, but came out with a restaurant quality muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
so good!..followed the recipe just like it is and they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I liked the basic recipe. Very healthy. Not sure what people were expecting. I followed the recipe exactly except for the topping, and I made them in a pan instead of muffin cups. Topped with my peanut butter frosting, amazingly moist snack cake loaded with oatmeal, ripe bananas, and peanut butter. Great way to use up those bananas, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
My DH hates muffins with a passion, so what i did with this fantastic recipe is this: add 1 cup extra flour, 1 cup of chocolate chips and turned these into cookies, soft chewie cookies! drop by tablespoon full and bake for 10 minutes! absolute perfection! and full of protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is a good recipe to base a great recipe off of. I swapped the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour. Added fiber & ground flax for a "healthy" muffin. I also added 1/4 cup more banana and peanut butter to make the flavor & nutrition pop. Make sure to use old banana's (the blacker ones) thats where all the sweetnes is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
it is an excellent base or start point. I didnt read the reviews until after I baked it. It does seem to lack an ingredient. I am no a seasoned enough baker to know what it exactly calls for. I am guessing maybe cream cheese in the batter. I wanted a smoother texture and a richerness to it. I would make this again - add chocolate chips and nuts as well as some cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States