Peanut Butter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I love peanut butter and banana sandwiches..why have I never thought to make peanut butter banana muffins before??? Wow, these were so good! I was nervous if these would come out good based on other's reviews, but I'm so glad I tried it! I think the ripeness of the banana/type of peanut butter is why it got all these mixed reviews. The bananas should be really ripe, the skin should be almost black. Yellow or green bananas don't have much taste to them on their own, so you definitely won't taste them baked with other ingredients. I switched to using natural peanut butter(the kind you have to stir), a few years ago, and there's such a taste difference from the other stuff(Jif, skippy, etc). The natural stuff, I have a jar of Smucker's right now, actually tastes like peanuts! lol It makes a HUGE difference, taste wise in baked goods. I would suggest investing in a PB mixer though if you switch, about $10. Anyways, sorry for the ramble! I made this recipe as written, only thing I added was pumpkin pie spice, which I always add to banana bread and I used oats in place of flour in the topping. Thanks so much for the recipe, definitely 5 star worthy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I agree with those saying to double the peanut butter and chocolate chips. Other than that, nice texture, very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have to agree with LUCIDNOODLE. They are flavorless. I won`t be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
These are delicious! Next time I will bake a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My kids love these. I followed the recipe except for doubling the vanilla and I added chocolate chips. Sweetness level solved and weekend breakfast treat delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Whitemouth, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I read the reviews and then added additional peanut butter but it is still a very bland muffin. I would not recommend making this recipe. Stick with a standard banana bread recipe and just proportion them into muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These are pretty great. I made a lot of changes, but like the end product. I used gluten free flour and coconut milk, used 3/4 sunflower butter, and flax to replace the eggs to make these muffin allergy free. I also doubled the bananas, added a touch a salt, and skipped the oil but used apple sauce instead. I also upped the brown sugar by a couple of tablespoons and added mini chocolate chips. My (allergic) family is enjoying these and I'm super glad I doubled the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly even though I read the reviews, but wanted to see for myself. I enjoyed them!! I agree that it needs salt and cinnamon. I also think I might try crushed banana chips and raisins next time, and there will be a next time. Thank for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I didn't have oats so used all flour and added a half tsp of salt. I used two large bananas I had that were about to go bad...the muffins definitely tasted like banana. Also substituted Nutella for peanut butter, which is much sweeter. The sweetness came out just right, not too sweet. Skipped the topping to save calories. They came out light and moist...more like banana chocolate cake than a muffin. They were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Mine did not rise like they should have. I made them exactly as the recipe stated. I thought there was just enough PB flavor and absolutely not enough Banana flavor. I'm sure my husband will love it the way it is. The tops did not brown as fast as the bottoms. I would absolutely add more banana and something to help it rise a little more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N. Olive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States