Peanut Butter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is my first time rating a recipe, but I just have to say my kids LOVE these muffins, and they're pretty healthy so I enjoy making them. I would've given them 5 stars, but I had to change the recipe a little bit. I just leave off the topping and add 1 C chocolate chips instead, and then I use 2 ripe bananas and 2/3 C peanut butter. The choc. chips add to the sweetness and flavor and make them very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Hall Borg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Loved it! Subtle flavour and not too sweet. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and it adds another dimension of flavour. A pinch of Nutmeg really helps too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These muffins are just okay. I should have added a half tsp of salt and more banana. I used natural peanut butter which might be why the peanut butter drowned out the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I love peanut butter and banana sandwiches..why have I never thought to make peanut butter banana muffins before??? Wow, these were so good! I was nervous if these would come out good based on other's reviews, but I'm so glad I tried it! I think the ripeness of the banana/type of peanut butter is why it got all these mixed reviews. The bananas should be really ripe, the skin should be almost black. Yellow or green bananas don't have much taste to them on their own, so you definitely won't taste them baked with other ingredients. I switched to using natural peanut butter(the kind you have to stir), a few years ago, and there's such a taste difference from the other stuff(Jif, skippy, etc). The natural stuff, I have a jar of Smucker's right now, actually tastes like peanuts! lol It makes a HUGE difference, taste wise in baked goods. I would suggest investing in a PB mixer though if you switch, about $10. Anyways, sorry for the ramble! I made this recipe as written, only thing I added was pumpkin pie spice, which I always add to banana bread and I used oats in place of flour in the topping. Thanks so much for the recipe, definitely 5 star worthy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I agree with those saying to double the peanut butter and chocolate chips. Other than that, nice texture, very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have to agree with LUCIDNOODLE. They are flavorless. I won`t be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
These are delicious! Next time I will bake a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My kids love these. I followed the recipe except for doubling the vanilla and I added chocolate chips. Sweetness level solved and weekend breakfast treat delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Whitemouth, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I read the reviews and then added additional peanut butter but it is still a very bland muffin. I would not recommend making this recipe. Stick with a standard banana bread recipe and just proportion them into muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These are pretty great. I made a lot of changes, but like the end product. I used gluten free flour and coconut milk, used 3/4 sunflower butter, and flax to replace the eggs to make these muffin allergy free. I also doubled the bananas, added a touch a salt, and skipped the oil but used apple sauce instead. I also upped the brown sugar by a couple of tablespoons and added mini chocolate chips. My (allergic) family is enjoying these and I'm super glad I doubled the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States