Peanut Butter Banana Flax Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Great taste and texture, with crunch on the outside and very moist inside. Watch the oven temp, it seems a little high. I would suggest 350 for 25-30 min, and check the muffins early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. No need to change anything at all, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These muffins were just delicious! Healthy with lots of fiber added. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made these because they are high calorie, high protein and nutritious. Perfect as snacks or a breakfast addition for my kids who need that right now. Unfortunately I think they are tasty, my kids do not. It might be because I used natural peanut butter so they are less sweet and more dense. It might also be because the dates add a mushy texture without adding flavor. I am going to try these again but will replace the dates with raisins or craisins and finely chop the walnuts so they don't stand out so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
followed this recipe fairly closely, and it came out great!! i did change a few minor things: 1) omitted the dates because i didn't have any, 2) cut the sugar to 1/2C and did half brown/half white, and 3) cut the cook time to 25mins. can't wait to bring these into work! i might try to convert this recipe to bread to gift for the holidays...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I loved these! Moist, and not overly sweet. The crumb topping made for a nice finish to the muffins. This recipe made 24 mini muffins. Substitutions: Gluten Free Baking Mix for the flour, Truvia Baking Blend for the sugar. Omitted: Nuts, dates and flax (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made so many changes to the recipe, but it still turned out great. First, I used Hemp milk and omitted the egg to make it Vegan. I substituted pumpkin for the banana (an excellent egg substitute) and added a little extra flax (also a great egg substitute). I used whole wheat and my husband didn't notice, which tells me it's a great recipe! I will definitely be using it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Excellent. I used diced almonds/pumpkin seeds in the place of other nuts and went with a streusel topping, instead of more peanut butter mix, in order to sweeten things up a bit. I also used a non-branded, natural peanut butter, but I'm sure the taste and texture were not adversely affected by the substitution. The muffin's texture was thick and hearty, like a bran muffin, yet still moist and varied due to the nuts and dates. The taste is similar to a peanut buttery banana nut muffin or bread. I've had two of these each morning since first making them, and they are just enough to fill you up until lunch rolls around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These are excellent!! I used almond milk and also added about a 1/4 cup of wheat germ. These are so healthy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great. I would skip the crumble on top next time because it made them way too messy for my kids. I used 1/2 cup sugar and skipped the dates and walnuts. I also use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States