Peanut Butter Balls V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made these today and I have to admit I was skeptical of putting graham crackers into the mix. I had never heard of it before! BUT, I didn't have any so I used vanilla wafers. I made as directed and once it was time for the cracker crumbs I only added in about 1/2 to 3/4 a cup. The mixture "looks" very dry, but tastes delicious! I read a reviewer who that said it was easier to melt the chocolate in the microwave instead, BIG MISTAKE! I had to keep reheating it to keep the chocolate smooth enough. Overall this is a great recipe, I omitted the nuts, cut the confectioner's sugar to 1 3/4 cups, and only used about 1/2 cup vanilla wafer crumbs. This is an easy recipe and pretty much foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Way too much butter. This mix results in a soft slimy mess that cannot be rolled into balls. Very disappointed, I ended up doubling the peanut butter and sugar to get a mix that was workable. The PB balls ended up tasting great, but now I have enough to feed a small community.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'm drooling just thinking about these. I made these for Christmas last year, and I think I will have to make them every Christmas! I believe the only thing I changed was I used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular. I'll definitely do that again, especially since I don't dip them in chocolate. Though I'm sure that would be a great addition, they are fantastic as is, less work, and less messy for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Monak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Oh for yum, these were good!! Time consuming but yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These are SO.GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is now a holiday standard in my house. The pecans and graham crackers are a must in my book. I freeze the balls to chill them and take them out in shifts and then back into the freezer with the chocolate coating. Growing up my grandmother had made peanut butter balls, but there was no recipe, and unfortunately it was not passed on to anyone, this recipe is an excellent replacement and is now our standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Oh my! These were such a hit at our office potluck. I made the recipe as listed, using only 2 cups of the graham cracker crumbs, but it was still just a bit too "dry" to form ball. I just added another 1/4 cup of butter. If you're making this in the first place, the chances are calorie trimming is not the goal. That did the trick, and the balls were doable. It is absolutely imperative to chill the peanut butter balls before dipping them as they will fall apart. Once they're dipped, the cooler temperature helps the chocolate "set" more quickly. Using the small bit of wax really makes the coating shine. The big test: They were delicious!!!! Everyone loved them! Think I'll have one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The was great and pretty easy! I used crunchy peanut butter because that was what i had on hand but that was just one less step and no need for the almonds! Everything was keep the same! For dipping i did some in white chocolate and some in regular chocolate! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asawyer7216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love this recipe! The only changes I make is that I use white chocolate and i dont put in pecans!! This is definitely a crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States