Peanut Butter Balls (Power Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made these with my two boys. We used chunky peanut butter and mini chocolate chips. My kids and I had a blast making these and they INHALED them. Great quick snack with pantry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Andrew really liked these. I rolled them in coconut or crushed granola cereal before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Ok heres the deal....I didn't make this but my mom has been making this for years and years. But with one addition....she added a little bit of rice krispies! And I am not sure what milk powder is...she used malt powder. For every play date, quick snack, late night sleep over.....whatever the occasion, she would whip these up and they are so good. This recipe brings me back 15 years to my childhood. Thanks for sharing, I think I am going to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a tasty recipe. I like that it uses powdered milk for the crunch instead of graham crackers. This is not intended to replace peanut butter balls candy (in which graham crackers are entirely welcome) so if you're looking for that flavor, this might not be the recipe for you. As a reasonably high-protein, tasty sweet snack, these hit the spot. FYI, use milk chocolate chips, semi-sweet tastes a bit out of place with the honey IMO! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My husbands grew up on peanut butter balls and I've been hunting for a recipe we could both enjoy. These ratios are perfect. The other recipes I've tried were too sweet or had artificial ingredients. Good peanut butter flavor without being over-poweringly sweet. I skipped the chocolate chips but used natural peanut butter and honey from Trader Joe's. You can really taste the difference with quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellectualditz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Simple recipe. I used all natural peanut butter, and fat free skim milk powdered, and these are still sweet and wonderfully tasty. The texture is perfect, and my fiance LOVED them. COuldn't tell the difference between these and the fatty ones. I consider that a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Classic. Also try it with crushed graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.Blaydes
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
so simple, fast, and delicious! this is the peanut butter ball recipe my mom used to make as well (though, we never thought to put chocolate chips in the mix - DUH!) i love the consistency. perhaps i made the balls more like 2 tablespoon scoops, but the recipe only yielded 11 power balls for me. i used poplar honey instead of clover, and i think they would've tasted better with regular ol' clover honey. brings back childhood memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These were okay. I am not really sure why they are called power balls though? Maybe, because of the peanut butter? I really despise powdered milk in raw recipes, as it dominates the flavor. So, I used cake flour in its place. It made them taste like peanut butter and chocolate chip cookie dough. I used natural pb and mini chocolate chips. I changed the servings to 6 with the calculate button and got 7 pb balls. It did satisfy my sweet craving, anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Like everyone else, my Mom made this for years and years too. Milk Powder is the same as nonfat dry milk. I want to try this with graham crackers. Is this added instead of dry milk or in addition to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States