Peanut Butter Balls IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I've made these several times and they are always devoured! However, I have never used the maple extract (I just double the vanilla) and prefer milk chocolate over semi-sweet. I think they taste just like Reese Cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
The whole reason I wanted to make these was because last weekend I bought one at a speciality store and it was so good I wanted to make them for Christmas. So today I made them! I also doubled the vanilla and skipped the maple flavoring. They turned out exactly as I wanted them too and they didn't cost a dollar a pop! I melted down some PB chips and made squiggles on the top to make them extra pretty! This one is a keeper! No need to add anything extra - the dough will seem crumbly but when formed in balls it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I liked the recipe but made a few changes,I added 1/2 Cup more peanut butter and used less maple extract (1/4 tsp) the peanut butter mixture was a little grainy instead of creamy so I added 1 tsp milk and warmed up slightly in microwave before rolling in balls and dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
i was not that impressed with this...i mean for one i ran into some difficulties dipping as the batter would fall apart once i tried to dip, I had to research another recipe to realizee that you were supposed to roll into balls and refridgerate for a period of time...and then use a broiler to melt the chocolate so it stayed thinner....once I did this stuff and used toothpicks to help dip....IT BECAME SUPER EASY....I wish this recipe would've been more helpful for first timers who didn't know the things that may seem common sense to others...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used maple syrup instead of maple extract. As stated in the recipe, you really need to knead the dough to get a nice consistancy. Also refrigerating balls before dipping in chocolate made it alot easier. had a hard time keeping them hidden till Christmas ;P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Wow!!! These were fantastic. My kids said they tasted like reeces peanut butter cups. Made a couple of changes, used 1 stick of butter, maple syrup, and 2 bags of milk chocolate chips. I don't have a double boiler so I put chips in microwave bowl with a tablespoon of shortening. Thanks this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
These little treasures were very good but I would leave out the maple flavoring completely next time. I also added a tablespoon of melted parafin to the chocolate chips to give the balls that professional chocolatier sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is very yummy! I tried a few different recipes for Peanut Butter Balls from this website and this one is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
These are the best Peanut Butter Balls I have ever eaten! The maple flavoring makes this recipe. I have tried other recipes with out the maple flavoring and none can compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Ok was it just me or was 4 cups of confectioners sugar just way too much??? I only used 2 cups of confectioners sugar. Had I used the 4 cups I would've ended up with nothing but a crumby mess. 2 cups was more than enough and I was able to shape them into balls. These were good.. ya just have to change the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States