Peanut Butter Balls IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
from reviews left out the maple flavoring. I would recommend you sift your conf. sugar to avoid white lumps in your finished treat. I also add a pc of parafin wax to the chocolate to give them a sheen and doesn't affect the chocolate taste at all. A great time to use those chocolate bunnies left over from Easter to melt down for dipping. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephanie.jw
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Super good and easy. I only used 3 cups of sugar. Next time I think I'll do even less. It was hard to make the balls and have them stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I do not like fake flavors or smells. I cut the maple extract back because of other's comments and it was still the dominant smell and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made these last night, and they are truly delicious. I read many of the reviews, so I was prepared to make one adjustment to the recipe as written: I used 3 cups of confectioners sugar instead of 4. The mixture held together perfectly, it was not crumbly at all. My suggestions have more to do with procedure. I wore vinyl gloves and combined everything by hand to get a smooth texture. Next time I would sift the sugar, because it was forming small lumps that took a lot of time to press out. I don't know if others used an electric mixer, but the recipe didn't specify that so I didn't use it. The maple extract was not available in stores, so I ordered it online, through Amazon. It was actually 'imitation maple extract', because true maple extract is nonexistent as far as I could tell! You can taste it in a subtle way, so it was worth the extra effort to get it. However, I think that this recipe would be successful even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
can you use almond extract instead of maple four stars from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love them! I put in a little more peanut butter but that's because I couldn't help myself. Peanut butter is too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was easy to make. It can get a little messy. I should've read the reviews before I made them. The next time I make this I will ensure I have a big function to go to. With the batter I had, it was way too much and it took my kids a long time to finish eating them. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The peanut butter part was too dry for my granddaughters (7 and 4 1/2) to work with. We had to play with adding more vanilla, peanut butter and even a little water. Finally workable. The chocolate was terrible to work with. Much too thick. I would try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marion, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We in Ohio call these Buckeyes! The only difference is that we don't dip them completely in chocolate. We leave a little of the Peanut Butter showing, thus they look like the nut-Buckeye! I've never had them made with Maple flavoring with the Vanilla! Sounds even better!! This is a GREAT recipe. A variation would be to use Cashew Butter. (I don't know that I would use the Maple!) I've had them made with it & they are fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used 3 cups of powered sugar instead of 4 and doubled the vanilla rather than using maple. I also used milk choc chips instead. They taste like peanut butter cups. My family loves them and they will be a Christmas tradition in our house. Thanks for the recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States