Peanut Butter Balls IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Took this to church and they told me to double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I like the ones with crunchy stuff in them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alina
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
As others said do not put 4c of sugar. That will be way too much. I only used about 2.5c and I also used 3/4 stick of butter. I also omitted the maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I thought this recipe was really good. The filling was very dry/crumbly. I made two batches and the first batch I just used a melon baller to scoop up the filling. I would dump it in my hand and dig deep for patience to sit there and somewhat mold it and shape it into a ball. I then made my second batch of filling. I melted a couple extra tablespoons of butter and added to the filling and that was sooo much better. That's all it needed. I didn't refrigerate the peanut butter balls before I coated them in chocolate and I didn't have any problems keeping them together either. But I did pack them pretty tight when I shaped them. So that might be why. I also thought they were very sweet. But I've had so many sweet things lately, and everything is just tasting overly sweet. My son and husband assured me though that they were perfect. And, I don't a double broiler, you don't need one. But not using one results in much thicker chocolate therefore making it a little harder to coat. I will make these again, probably for New Years b/c they are a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I chose this recipe for my peanut butter balls, after I added the butter and peanut butter & flavoring and mixed together, I added a cup of powdered sugar, I just dipped a 1 cup measuring cup into the bag of powdered sugar and leveled it, poured it in and mixed, but it absorbed all the moisture from the peanut butter and the butter. I warmed it for 30 seconds in the microwave and attempted to incorporate another cup of powdered sugar and could not get it all absorbed so I added the rest of the 16.3 oz. jar of Peter Pan creamy peanut butter and about 3 tablespoons of corn syrup and was able to incorporate the rest of the sugar to make a dough that was not too stiff but held together. It is now chilling until I can roll it into balls. After tasting is plenty sweet. I didn't want to stiff a dough because after encasing in the chocolate and I want it to be soft and creamy when you bite into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bswholey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Good, but not perfect. If you cut down the confectioners sugar to 3 cups, adding and mixing 1 cup in at a time it makes for the perfect texture and sweetness. Adding a bit of fat to the chocolate also helps with dipping. Try a tbsp of butter, oil or coconut oil. I also make these into peanut butter snowballs quite easily by dipping in icing sugar frosting and tossing in coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe as directed, but it was too grainy during the mix up part of peanut butter, powered sugar....etc. I hope I didn't ruin all my ingredients trying to make this! What did it mean by knead well? I haven't had to knead any of my candy recipes. After adding extra peanut butter, and increasing the butter to another four tablespoons, it still isn't right. I have made these for years, and never had any problems with MY recipe. I am going to not have peanut butter candy this year! I ruined all my ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Nowlin Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Not impressive. Had a really hard time mixing it all and kneading it together. It was really flaky with the amount of sugar vs the amount of peanut butter. It gets the 3 stars because I was able to make some good peanut butter balls via this recipe, but I had to add a LOT more peanut butter in order to get it to not be flaky at all and for the balls to stay together. Good recipe in theory, but needs less sugar and more peanut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
from reviews left out the maple flavoring. I would recommend you sift your conf. sugar to avoid white lumps in your finished treat. I also add a pc of parafin wax to the chocolate to give them a sheen and doesn't affect the chocolate taste at all. A great time to use those chocolate bunnies left over from Easter to melt down for dipping. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephanie.jw
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Super good and easy. I only used 3 cups of sugar. Next time I think I'll do even less. It was hard to make the balls and have them stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States