Peanut Butter Balls IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Good, but not perfect. If you cut down the confectioners sugar to 3 cups, adding and mixing 1 cup in at a time it makes for the perfect texture and sweetness. Adding a bit of fat to the chocolate also helps with dipping. Try a tbsp of butter, oil or coconut oil. I also make these into peanut butter snowballs quite easily by dipping in icing sugar frosting and tossing in coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe as directed, but it was too grainy during the mix up part of peanut butter, powered sugar....etc. I hope I didn't ruin all my ingredients trying to make this! What did it mean by knead well? I haven't had to knead any of my candy recipes. After adding extra peanut butter, and increasing the butter to another four tablespoons, it still isn't right. I have made these for years, and never had any problems with MY recipe. I am going to not have peanut butter candy this year! I ruined all my ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Not impressive. Had a really hard time mixing it all and kneading it together. It was really flaky with the amount of sugar vs the amount of peanut butter. It gets the 3 stars because I was able to make some good peanut butter balls via this recipe, but I had to add a LOT more peanut butter in order to get it to not be flaky at all and for the balls to stay together. Good recipe in theory, but needs less sugar and more peanut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
from reviews left out the maple flavoring. I would recommend you sift your conf. sugar to avoid white lumps in your finished treat. I also add a pc of parafin wax to the chocolate to give them a sheen and doesn't affect the chocolate taste at all. A great time to use those chocolate bunnies left over from Easter to melt down for dipping. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephanie.jw
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Super good and easy. I only used 3 cups of sugar. Next time I think I'll do even less. It was hard to make the balls and have them stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I do not like fake flavors or smells. I cut the maple extract back because of other's comments and it was still the dominant smell and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made these last night, and they are truly delicious. I read many of the reviews, so I was prepared to make one adjustment to the recipe as written: I used 3 cups of confectioners sugar instead of 4. The mixture held together perfectly, it was not crumbly at all. My suggestions have more to do with procedure. I wore vinyl gloves and combined everything by hand to get a smooth texture. Next time I would sift the sugar, because it was forming small lumps that took a lot of time to press out. I don't know if others used an electric mixer, but the recipe didn't specify that so I didn't use it. The maple extract was not available in stores, so I ordered it online, through Amazon. It was actually 'imitation maple extract', because true maple extract is nonexistent as far as I could tell! You can taste it in a subtle way, so it was worth the extra effort to get it. However, I think that this recipe would be successful even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
can you use almond extract instead of maple four stars from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love them! I put in a little more peanut butter but that's because I couldn't help myself. Peanut butter is too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was easy to make. It can get a little messy. I should've read the reviews before I made them. The next time I make this I will ensure I have a big function to go to. With the batter I had, it was way too much and it took my kids a long time to finish eating them. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States