Peanut Butter Balls IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used 3 cups of powered sugar instead of 4 and doubled the vanilla rather than using maple. I also used milk choc chips instead. They taste like peanut butter cups. My family loves them and they will be a Christmas tradition in our house. Thanks for the recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Too crumbly-better peanut butter ball recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
although the recipe tastes good, it is so labor intensive that we give 2 thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
good but a bit too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These came out really good! I added the powdered sugar a half cup at a time, and ended up using 3 1/2 cups - and even then I was finding the dough hard to stick together. So, I beat in 2 more tbsp of softened butter and it was much better to work with. Only other change was to use maple syrup (Grade B) instead of the extract. I think these would be great with just double vanilla and no maple, but I thought the maple did add a certain depth of flavor without making it at all "maple-y". I do like these, but I have to admit I prefer the peanut butter bar filling with the graham cracker crumbs in it. Still, these are tasty and will make a nice addition to my Christmas cookie platters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by fleabee
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Delicious and easy! I love it. Maybe just a bit more chocolate chips next time. Got a little hard to cover the balls closer to the end. But excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Way too sweet. 4 cups of powdered sugar?? I was afraid if I deviated they wouldn't hold together so I followed as is. I will give them to the nieces and nephews who like really sweet desserts but not even sure if they will like them. Also it's just messy and tedious to dip in chocolate. The Reese's peanut butter cup cookies I made were way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Almost panicked when I made these! Four cups confectioner sugar is WAY too much! They were so dry, they wouldn't hold together, so I doubled the margarine AND the peanut butter which saved them. I made these last night for a Christmas dinner today at my church. I also added 1 T. paraffin wax (or 2 T. shortening will do) so the chocolate would be easier to dip the balls in. Left the maple syrup out. They ended up turning out perfect after the adjustments I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Good, but I add a cup of rice krispies to the peanut butter for a nice little crunch. I make hundreds of these each year to give away.Yes, be sure and refrigerate the balls before you dip and I tend to use two spoons rather than a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made these like the recipe, but kept all vanilla instead of maple and used milk chocolate chips instead. VERY YUMMY! These freeze well and I sneak one when no one is looking :) They are very sweet, maybe a little sweeter than the Reese's PB cups. I think I would try it next time with a little less sugar to see if the peanut butter taste can be a little stronger. THESE ARE SUPER EASY AND SUPER YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States