Peanut Butter Balls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I wasn't at all impressed. They were dry, crumbly and way too sweet. I even used extra peanut butter. I'm not a beginner so I don't think it's anything I did...but, maybe? Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made as stated - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Oh my does this bring back memories! My Grandma Helen used to make these every Christmas and we all looked forward to them. I didn't have her recipe and I was so happy to find this on AR. I made these with my niece and we had a ball - no pun intended! I did made a couple of changes to made it hold together better. I used a whole jar of peanut butter (it's a little over 2 cups anyway), kept the butter the same, and reduced the sugar by 1 cup. I melted the peanut butter and butter in the microwave and then mixed everything. I put the peanut butter balls on cookie sheets lined with wax paper and let them chill for a few hours. I then dipped them in chocolate and red and green sprinkles for Xmas. Take one bite of these crunchy, peanuty, chocolatey little treats and you'll want to make these every year too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These turned out AMAZING!! I too cut back on the icing sugar, used crunchy peanut butter, and the holiday Rice Krispies, for a prettier presentation. When dipping the chocolate, I used both white and semi sweet. Using a fork and spoon (the ball gets put in the chocolate, scooped out with the fork and spoon the rest of the chocolate). Give a couple shakes off the side of the bowl, and voila!! Put them on parchment paper, let them dry and then drizzle more white chocolate on the semi sweet and vice versa. I have gotten rave reviews on the presentation, and so many requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very good! Except I think there was a little too much powdered sugar and a little more chocolate was needed. I ended up melting another half a cup to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I used 2 1/2 cups low fat, smooth kraft Peanut Butter & 2 3/4 cups of Confectioners Sugar and these turned out absolutely amazing!!! Little bit of water on your hands helped roll them out!!! Awesome recipe...will definitely keep making these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was the best PB Ball recipe that I have found. I didn't have any regular rice krispies, so I used cocoa krispies instead (AMAZING!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I followed other's suggestions using a little less conf. sugar. but otherwise followed the recipe. When I was making these, I said to my husband, I will never make these again! I said that because I found it almost impossible to form the balls it was such a sticky mess and seemed just so time consuming but as others may have mentioned, even just fridgerating the mixture for 15 mins makes it 100% easier to form the balls. These are incredibly delicious! Better than a Reese's cup. Also, I had trouble dipping in the chocolate using a toothpick or spoon and just ended up using my hands and then it became very easy to get them all covered quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
WAY too much sugar! Next time I would definitely cut back on the sugar and add some more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I took the advice of others and used only 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and I'm glad I did or they would be too sweet! I chilled the dough before rolling into balls and this made them easy to roll. I gave them 4 stars because although they are very tasty, I find it difficult to make these look pretty. This was my first time making these so next time I may try drizzling instead of dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States