Peanut Butter Balls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The recipe was a hit with everyone. No complaints about taste. I would recommend, as some have, to be easy on the confectioners' sugar. The peanut butter is sweet enough with 2-3 cups of sugar. I don't have any specialized equipment, so I just used a crock pot to melt the chocolate and a fork to pull the balls out. It's definitely an acquired skill. I'd say to bring some extra chocolate chips, just in case, because the two bags that I had never turned out to be enough. And be sure to allot plenty of time to this project, as it took me about an hour just to dip the balls in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Super good if you cut the sugar in half and add a liiittle more p.b. and rice crispy cereal. I also add 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and use natural p.b, so I have to add 1/4 tsp salt as well. The chocolate I use is bakers unsweetened dark plus milk choc chips (that are sweetened) and it's a nice balance. I do add a tsp coconut oil to the melting chocolate to thin it just a little. I will make these at Christmas again with my other balls. :) ..I'm sure the kids would like these better than the rum balls accidently bitten into last Christmas lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
How do I love these treats? Let me count the ways! First off I will tell you, I am not a huge peanut butter fan...don't hate it, just don't love it. I needed something that seemed fairly simple yet round and "candyish" for the holidays. The holidays passed and I never got them made but a few weeks later, I decided since I had all the ingredients on hand, I would give them a go. #1 (as I am counting the ways I love them)they are EASY to make. At first when I was rolling them into balls by hand they (my hands) started to get more and more gooey. I fixed that problem by keeping my hands dusted with powdered sugar. #2 They LOOK nice and could easily be dressed up even more with sprinkles etc. #3 They TASTE out of this world....I'm serious, they are SO creamy on the inside they taste worthy of the name "truffle". It is not normal for me to get a hankerin for anything peanut buttery but I seriously got hungry for these! Just to get them away from me, I gave the last dozen or so to my dear friend and told her where to find the recipe. A week or so later I spoke with her and she had already made them...TWICE! (she didn't exactly thank me for showing her this new vice!) BEWARE...your greatest dieting weakness will be replaced with these new wonders....before making, consider carefully if you want to do this to yourself and others! AWWWWWW..... GO FOR IT!!!!! You'll thank yourself. Between curses.....you'll thank yourself! ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this recipe and gave it to friends and family as part of my Christmas baking. This is the item that recieved the most compliments and that people asked me for the recipe for. I don't know if it was my miscalculation because I was baking multiple things at once, but I needed more chocolate to coat the balls. I recommend having more semi-sweet chocolate on hand just in case. Like another reviewer, I also needed a bit more of peanut butter and butter mixture in order to mix in all the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I did enjoy these, however, many people that I served them to did not. Following other reviews, I cut the sugar back to about 1 1/2 cups and they were still sickly sweet. Adding all that sugar to already sweet peanut butter and covering it in sweet chocolate. I even thinned the chocolate so I could have a thinner coating. The next time I make these, I will scale the sugar back even further. These certainly have potential to be 5 stars, but the amount of sugar in this recipe is WAY off. I couldn't imagine what it would have been like with the full 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
We loved these peanut butter balls. My kids made them with my assistant that is how easy they were to make. Will definately make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was such a disappointment! I followed the recipe exactly but the balls were very hard to stick together. I did read reviews and add extra peanut butter as suggested. Even after working them into balls as well as possible and putting them in the freezer for a time, they still fell apart when trying to dip them. It was a gooey mess. This was a total disaster and I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is my second time making these, they are soooooo goooood! The first time I halfed the recipe because I didn't know what they would turn out like plus I had never made peanut butter balls before (so simple!) but this time I made the whole batch but I used milk chocolate because I don't have semi sweet :S STILL YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linkynrose
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These were not bad but I prefer the creamier texture of buckeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is such an easy recipe and it was enjoyed by all. I get many requests for the recipe. I substituted with crunchy peanut butter plus 2 tablespoons of creamy peanut buttter and they were just awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States