Peanut Butter Balls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I make these using gluten free Rice Krispies for a delicious gluten free treat! No one can tell the difference. I would recommend adding 2 T shortening to the chocolate for easier dipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is a delicious recipe that's a hit in my home! Just a couple small changes: I only put in 2 1/2 cups of the sugar and substituted the rice krispies for crushed golden grahams!! I also may have added a teeny bit more peanut butter because I wanted to empty the jar;) I made these for my office cookie exchange this year because the recipe makes so many! (I made 60 average sized balls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is just like the recipe that my friend & co-worker Kelly made long ago, except using only 2 cups of powdered sugar....4 is too much. The rice crispies add great texture and crunch. Some use crunchy PB, as well, but I strongly prefer using creamy for these. I make these every Christmas to give as gifts. I found it too tedious dipping each ball one at a time, so I now line mini muffin tins with the mini liners, put 1 TB of melted chocolate in the bottom of each liner, drop in the ball and cover with more melted chocolate. You can decorate with Christmas sprinkles or finely chopped peanuts on top before they harden. They look beautiful & festive, taste delicious, and are very popular with everyone who receives them. They look so cute in the mini muffin liners! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe needs a lot of work. There is too much sugar and the consistency is very dry. They were very hard to mold into balls because they wouldn't stick together. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made this recipe recently and there is definitely wayyy too much sugar!! I would cut it from 4 cups to 1, and add more peanut butter and butter. Would also add about half a cup of butter when melting the chocolate chips to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
The consistency was a little too crunchy from the rice cereal and too squishy soft for my liking, but the taste was SPOT ON! They were rich and peanut buttery, and the thin chocolate coating made them taste just like Reese's PB cups. YUM! Next time, I think I'll stick the cereal in a blender to make it a bit smoother. Still delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Yum! These delicious morsels are time consuming but oh sooooo decadently addicting! I am a perfectionist at heart (I know this isn't a "healthy" trait, but sometimes I just can't help myself lol!) and the fact that my PB balls look so pitiful will more than likely keep me from making these for anything other than special occasions. I guess I just need to break down and invest in a dipping tool set haha. :) That aside, I think the ratio of PB, sugar and cereal is spot on here. The PB mixture is SUPER easy to work with (at least it was for me), has the right amount of crunch to it and is sweet enough to not rot your teeth. NOTE: To make your chocolate go farther, add 1.5 - 2 T of shortening to it. This thins it out a bit and makes dipping MUCH easier! I'd also like to point out that I was able to make nearly 8 DOZEN balls out of this using my 1 T Pampered Chef cookie scoop!!!!! Obviously, I needed another bag of chips to get the job done, but instead of using chocolate chips (I opted for MILK chocolate for my first 4 dozen), I used WHITE chocolate chips. Because my white chocolate dipped PB balls looked boring (snore, snore), I drizzled them with a touch of melted chocolate. Mmmmmmm.... Thanks for sharing your recipe, Nancy! Since these are usually part of many of my friends and co-workers holiday cookie trays, I think I'll wait until then to indulge. This requires a little too much effort for an everyday treat. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I have been making these sweet treats for years too! Try rolling them in coconut instead of dipped in chocolate! OMG, they are super addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Too sweet for my taste but I think I will use 1 cup less sugar. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The recipe was a hit with everyone. No complaints about taste. I would recommend, as some have, to be easy on the confectioners' sugar. The peanut butter is sweet enough with 2-3 cups of sugar. I don't have any specialized equipment, so I just used a crock pot to melt the chocolate and a fork to pull the balls out. It's definitely an acquired skill. I'd say to bring some extra chocolate chips, just in case, because the two bags that I had never turned out to be enough. And be sure to allot plenty of time to this project, as it took me about an hour just to dip the balls in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States