Peanut Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Almost perfect! These are close to my mom's, who makes them without a recipe. I used a bag and a half of chocolate chips to dip them and cooled them in the freezer to make them slightly firm so dipping was much easier. I added paraffin wax to the chocolate, but didn't add enough because they were still sticky to the touch. That's the only flaw with this recipe. The chocolate needs wax to set it. (Paraffin is not generally edible, but my family has been making candy with it for years.) I might try the Dolci Frutta chocolate dip next time for a good coating without the wax and a lighter chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Had a little bit of a hard time with these. The chocolate burned but in all they were really good and the family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
super addicting! I used butter instead of shortening and yes, definitely refrigerate or freeze before dipping in chocolate. The only thing I may switch is the semi-sweet chocolate- next time i'm going to use milk chocolate; it's a better complement to the peanut butter. These are definitely always a hit though...I'm always told they taste just like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Either I was really bad at trying these out or the recipe is bad. The balls always fell apart, way to much surgar and can someone please tell me how to dip balls in chocolate without the chocolate getting hard! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
These were so easy to make and very very, I mean very rich! One is more than enough. The kids loved them, and enjoyed making them with me! They are so easy, and fast to make. The five stars is especially for how simple and practical they are to make. Made with ingredients I always have on hands! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These are so good! I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
The absolute BEST peanut butter ball recipe I've tried. My kids and I used this recipe to make peanut butter eggs for Easter. They turned out really well. The texture was perfect and the taste was out of this world! The graham cracker crumbs are the secret ingredient, I think. My mother thought these were the best. Candy-making can be intimidating, but this recipe is so simple and yields delicious results. They disappear quickly, so consider doubling the recipe. I will use this recipe every year for Christmas, and whenever else I can find an excuse to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I wish I would have read the reviewer's suggestions BEFORE I turned this awesome recipe into a disaster. I made a HUGE mess trying to roll gooey peanut butter batter into melted chocolate. Next time I will REFRIDERATE before coating them. In spite of that, the texture & flavor were remarkable! Also, I used chocolate almond bark instead of choco chips....I think it would have been just fine if I could've actually made balls instead of a mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Sewell
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These tasted GREAT! Most people who tried them couldn't handle more than one or two. They're very rich/heavy. This will definately spoil your appetite if eaten too close to dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sewell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States