Peanut Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by BellaByrdie
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Great Recipie! Simple to make. Easy to decorate. Yummy too!! As for the recipie itself you need more chocolate to coat than it calls for. Thankfully I had extra chocolate on hand to melt otherwise I wouldn't have had enough coat the balls. Using a toothpick to dip them and freezing them to firm up is The best thing for dipping them easily. I also liked the milk chocolate better with the peaunt butter. I wanted a little less sugar in these because I wasn't fond of it with all four cups so I added a 1/4 cup of Peanut Butter and 1/2 cup of crushed graham crackers. Still had an amazing texture. Also if you want to drizzle with peanut butter take chips and melt with shortening or Peanut butter to give a loose consitancy to drizzle over the balls. These are my new go to for gifts and any event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Soo much better than the peanut butter balls with rice crispy's or parafin. Will make again next xmas. After many attempts at making candy coated balls I finally broke down and got a Wiltons dipping spoon. So much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were amazing!! Instead of cutting the chocolate with shortening we used only chocolate chips and they were such a huge hit! I made them for my Fiance's Thesis proposal and all the scientists, professors and grad students that attended raved about them afterwords!! They taste just like a giant Reese's PB cup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Danielewicz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So good! I recommend 3 cups of chocolate chips and 1.5 tablespoons butter for the chocolate coating. All my friends and family love these things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Peanut butter and chocolate - as always, love them! I found this recipe very easy to work with. I had no problems rolling or dipping the balls, and they turned out very pretty, decorated for spring (I hope it's coming soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very, very rich and sweet. I could only eat 2. Definitely freeze your pb mixture with a toothpick in there or it will be quite difficult to handle. I used 2 c milk chocolate, 1 1/2 tbsp shortening, and 1/2 cup butter melted in my mini crock. It got too hot so I had to turn it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These taste great, for a nice creamy chocolate taste i added a stick of butter to the milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made them just as the recipe directed and they were absolutely decadent. I found an excellent twist. I used brown sugar (1 cup) and three packets of Truvia, then doubled the graham crackers. I then used 1/8 teaspoon of salt to bring out the peanut taste. I recommend putting the graham crackers into a food processor to create a smooth texture. This way it is less sugar. Ghiradelli is perfect. I tried the 60% Cacao and it made the perfect cover. Also, I only dipped the balls half way to save on chocolate. Thanks for the awesome starter recipe, Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtsyInGB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I was extremely impressed with this recipe. Reese's cups are my favorite.... OMG these taste exactly like them... very delicious! The scary part is they were way too easy to make. As several other reviewers mentioned chilling the dough after the little balls are made works perfect. Something I didn't read that made it easier for me. Second batch I chilled all the little balls and during that time is when I warmed up my chocolate chips in the microwave, that way it was timed perfect instead of the chocolate setting a bit before the balls were chilled. Very good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I LOVE these, but I think I'd love them better if someone else made them. It's a lot of work, and you need way more chocolate than listed because it coats the balls too thick. At least that was my experience. And I couldn't find a very good way to thin it down without ruining the chocolate. Very yummy though, and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellyjoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States