Peanut Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were great. After dipping, I sprinkled with pecans and coconut! Very easy. Tip: Put balls in freezer to firm before dipping. Makes it much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Everyone in my extended family kept snitching these delicious peanut butter balls this Christmas. I'm a chocolate snob, so I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chips. I couldn't bear to pollute it with shortening or any other fat - and quite frankly the thicker chocolate coating was perfect for me (but had to use 3 bags of choc chips). I microwaved the chocolate to melt it, stirring frequently, and used a spoon to dip the balls - much easier than a double boiler and toothpick routine. And if you're wondering - use creamy peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
These were a hit at my church's Christmas party. I would recommend TWO bags of chocolate chips though. I did not have enough chocolate to cover all of the peanut butter balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is such a quick recipe to make; and they dissappear just as fast! The only thing I did differently was I used Rice Crispies instead of the graham cracker crumbs and milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. You can also roll them in crushed nuts, cocoa powder, powdered sugar or coconut as an alternative to the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
I used this recipe last year for Christmas presents. The recipe at that time said to combine 1 1/2 ounces of parafin with the chocolate chips, rather than the shortening. The parafin worked great. Haven't tried this with the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
These were delicious! I used a size #60 scoop(small scoop from The Pampered Chef) to make perfect 1 Tbsp. balls. But I felt the chocolate was too thick and would melt on your hands, so I added a half a bar of parrafin wax to the MILK chocolate chips (don't care for semi-sweet). They melt in your mouth, not in your hand! Does anyone know if these freeze well???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BMASOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belgrade, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Centre, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
The absolute BEST peanut butter ball recipe I've tried. My kids and I used this recipe to make peanut butter eggs for Easter. They turned out really well. The texture was perfect and the taste was out of this world! The graham cracker crumbs are the secret ingredient, I think. My mother thought these were the best. Candy-making can be intimidating, but this recipe is so simple and yields delicious results. They disappear quickly, so consider doubling the recipe. I will use this recipe every year for Christmas, and whenever else I can find an excuse to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I was extremely impressed with this recipe. Reese's cups are my favorite.... OMG these taste exactly like them... very delicious! The scary part is they were way too easy to make. As several other reviewers mentioned chilling the dough after the little balls are made works perfect. Something I didn't read that made it easier for me. Second batch I chilled all the little balls and during that time is when I warmed up my chocolate chips in the microwave, that way it was timed perfect instead of the chocolate setting a bit before the balls were chilled. Very good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Great recipe but if you have a Sams Club,get there Ghiradelli chocolate. It is in a large flat box.I believe there is a pound for $5 something. Well worth it if you want delicous candy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Would suggest using milk choc chips to make chocolate taste a little better,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States