Peanut Butter, Bacon and Apple Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Peanut butter and Bacon sandwiches are a staple for me and I like the crunchy addition of apples! Thanks for posting this classic, at least a classic in my house. I like mine on buttered and toasted wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was amazing in flavor texture and apperance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Bacon, apple PB, where have you been my whole life?! This was love at first sight, and yes it was delicious too! This sandwich will be good morning, noon and night! I used thin cut Honeycrisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My husband found this recipe in a magazine and tried it as a last minute alternative. To be honest, I thought it sounded a bit gross. Our recipe used smoked apple bacon and adding peach jam. Also, I suggest using Texas toast. The thicker sliced bread prevents it from getting soggy after grilling it. We are huge fans of this recipe! It is one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe was intriguing to me. Simple and a bit off the beaten path (which I truly like--who wants normal all the time?), so I thought I'd give it a whirl. I didn't exactly follow the recipe completely for a few reasons. I don't usually have or like white bread, so I used the pb and jelly bread I'd just made. I also only have bacon crumbles, not bacon, so I mixed some crumbles with pb and used that as the spread on both sides of the bread, then put the apples in the middle. I like it; the savory flavor of bacon goes well with peanut butter, and the apples add some sweetness. I can't say if the bf would like this, but it works as a simple lunch for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Excellent! I used whole wheat, put pb on both slices of bread to hold things together - and I probably used more of everything. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years, but without the apple. Peanut butter and bacon are a great match, even though it may seem a bit odd. Will try it with apples, maybe even with a pear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
we call this the *almost elvis sandwich* :) only change is it has to be on toasted whole grain bread - sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonshine7015

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston Manor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
OMG! So odd, but so good! Sometimes some of the strangest food pairings turn out to be really tasty. This was a great combination of sweet & salty. I used whole wheat bread and grilled my sandwich to get my peanut butter a bit melty and used Granny Smith Apples. I say don't knock it 'til ya try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
These are really good! I make mine on toasted English muffins. Often substitute Canadian bacon for the regular bacon. I know this is going to make the combination sound even stranger, but a thin slice of onion will really add more zip to this sandwich and tastes a lot better than it probably sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States