Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The reason i gave this a 4 stars is, I expected the bacon grease would make them a little greasier and a more homemade taste. I could still taste the box. I took these cupcakes to a baby shower that got raves and reviews. I heard some say who thought of that combination but was compelled to try them anyway. The only thing left was the bakery ordered cupcakes. They will be the ultimate when I find a home cake batter to go with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Kitty Weeks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a very rich cupcake. I found that the bacon pieces in the cupcake itself tend to get crunchier with the baking and some pieces became very chewy because of that. I don't like crunchy peanut butter, so I used smooth and just added chopped walnuts. And the frosting...I used 1/2 the recipe and still had maybe 2/3 cup left over. Really bad proportions on the frosting. And, because of the cream cheese in the frosting, they absolutely need to be refrigerated. I really don't see the need for the bacon grease, doesn't add much flavor but I could feel my arteries hardening with every bite. I feel that you don't need to use fried bacon...the Hormel real bacon pieces would do just fine, and the recipe itself is really overpowered by all the peanut butter. The bacon flavor gets lost, with the exception of what's in the frosting. If I ever make these again, I will leave out the bacon grease, nuts and make a buttercream frosting, otherwise it's just like eating a hunk of peanut butter. This recipe definitley needs 'tweeking.' I didn't tell my husband what was in it, and he didn't see the bacon on top as I pushed it into the frosting. He said it tasted like a soft peanut butter cookie, and was surprised it had bacon in it, until he ate more of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I'm not sure why others thought this recipe was a hassle, cooking bacon is the only extra step. Mine made 24 cupcakes so I made the full frosting recipe and did have some left over but halving it wouldn't have been enough. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yum! Super rich but everyone still loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Yum! Used microwave pre-cooked bacon, canola oil vs. grease, smooth peanut butter. Definitely halve the icing recipe. Skip heavy cream & use milk. (Left out the whole peanuts 'cause I didn't have 'em!) Really delicious (and NOT time-consuming) cupcake recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I'm not sure why other reviewers have said these are complicated. I cooked the bacon in the microwave. The bacon grease adds fat to the cupcakes but not flavor, so next time I would use canola oil to be a bit healthier. The icing recipe does need to be halved, and instead of heavy cream you can just use whatever type of milk you have on hand. I love the peanut/bacon combo and the saltiness is a nice way to counter the richness of the peanut butter. However, I think the texture is weird - a cupcake that has crunchy bits of peanuts and bacon in it. For next time I would try to figure out a way to make a cookie out of this flavor combination rather than a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
My husband Jean LOVE these!! What a great combination of flavors. I most definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smom
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
i think these are amazing...an odd combination, but don't be afraid, they are delicious! based on other reviews, i halved the frosting recipe and it was more than enough for the 16 cupcakes that it made for me...other than the long prep, these are great...but they do take some fussing (making bacon, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Love them! The owner of AJ Bombers shared them with us on a recent visit to Milwaukee to visit our daughter and we were very excited to try them. We loved them! I will try to make them and share with family and friends at our next get together! Yummy! It is true that if it has bacon on it, it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
its ingredients were just to much there were too much frosting and its super hard to make. My friends didn't even eat one and it took me 3 hours to bake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States