Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very Dissapointing recipe. I boiled the sugar, corn syrup and H20 just like the recipe called for, but i didnt have a thermomemter. I boiled it for 20 mins. I tried doing the spoon thing and my mix never got quite that thick. then after cooling, it never hardened. I added vanilla, salt and butter to this recipe but according to other readers theirs was successful. i was making it for work so i was extremely upset it didnt turn out. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Great brittle and very easy! I doubled the recipe and sustituted chopped macadamia nuts instead of the peanuts. Terrific! My candy thermometer was broken so I used the "hair method" described in this recipe and it worked just great! Will definitely make again, especially for the holiday gift giving! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have made peanut brittle for fundraisers for years, but lost my recipe. I found this one and added a half teaspoon of salt. It literally is very simple. I have also made it with toasted coconut. Its very tasty that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDDINGBARB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
It was tasty for sure! I found it had too many peanuts for my taste, and I did add a couple tablespoons of butter with the nuts as suggested by others. It was a bit TOO crunchy, but I'm not sure if that was my fault or not. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carnation, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
AWESOME flavor! It was my first time making candy and it came out great BUT what I didn't really think about was that living here in New Orleans where it is always humid *despite it being December) the candy wouldn't 'set' so I put it in the freezer for a bit and it hardened right up!! Everyone loves it! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was so easy and soo delicious. I made it as a gift for someone and I am SURE they will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very good and easy. I could not find raw peanuts so I used regular canned, salted, spanish peanuts and they worked fine. WARNING! This foams up a lot! Use a pan that will allow your contents to at least double without spilling over. I also sprayed the foil with cooking spray and used the spread out and break apart tecnique. Yummy Stuff. I am making more to give out for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Lyons-Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Nice brittle recipe. I did heat it a little too hot, so a bit sticky, will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarCrystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a perfect brittle recipe. I made 3 batches in under an hour. For some kick I added 1/2 tablespoon of chili flakes to one of the batches....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States