Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Nice and easy to make. Sticky and messy as usual for candy recipes! Only draw back for me in NZ I substituted the corn syrup for golden syrup, and when combined with the baking soda it ended up tasting more like hockey pockey brittle, I was looking more for the traditional peanut toffee brittle. Great post though thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I had never made peanut brittle before, but I know my way around a kitchen, so that was not an obstacle for me. I don't have a candy thermometer, so the hard ball test is what worked for me. (Drop a spoonful of syrup into cold water, and it will turn hard and solid.) I did add the butter and vanilla, but I think I will omit the vanilla next time. I did end up burning it a little, but not so bad that it tastes awful. I REALLY liked the texture of this brittle, it was fluffy, not dense and it made a tactile treat for my mouth!! I will be making this again!! (Only next time, I will not burn it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Never made Peanut Brittle before? Me neither! But this was EASY and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
very very good, but not very brittle.. ended up very chewy, which was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for my gifts for all my friends and family for Christmas. It was a huge HIT! I also used almonds and pecans. My tips: add a dash of cinnamon when you add the baking soda. STIR those nuts while they are comming up to temp. It will take about 15 minutes. Don't try to put the temp to high! Sugar will be everywhere! Spread FAST! The brittle is easier to eat thin! I made at least 10 batches. I burnt the first 3! Stir those nuts and use keep a constant eye on that temp. Remember 15-20 minutes of stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Service Dir./Chef wantabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
So easy and yummy!! It's amazing what the baking soda does. In fact, the first batch I made I forgot to add it and it was just terrible. FYI, start to finish, each batch takes just about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
this recipe works great, very tasty, the only thing I added was 1 T butter and added 1 t. vanilla, added these to the mixture just prior to adding the soda before removing from the heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This turned out perfect. Candy thermometer helped, I'm sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Super sticky and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is great!!!!! the first time i made it it turned out fantastic!!!!!! i used the Planters dry roasted and light salted and i used 1 1/3 Cups of it ( i always like more peanuts in my brittle) it it turned out great. I did take the advice of one of the other reviewers and i sparyed non stick on the foil. I also used and Iron skillet when i made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States