Peanut Blossoms II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This recipe is awesome!! I've been using the same one for years, with just a few variations: (1) For a slightly more moist and chewy cookie, use butter in place of the shortening (no, they do not come out flat this way - they maintain their shape perfectly). The flavor of the butter also helps take the taste of these cookies to a whole new level!! (2) Bake them at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, pull them out of the oven and put the kisses on them, then put them back in the oven for 1.5 to 2 additional minutes. If you do this, the chocolate takes on a new, slightly softer texture once it cools. It still hardens, but not QUITE as hard; and it suits the cookies much better when it's time for eating. Whether you take my advice or follow the posted recipe, I urge you to try these cookies. You won't be disappointed! This is THE classic Peanut Butter Blossoms recipe, and everyone you feed them to will love them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I have made a few batches, ones made with regular Crisco and ones made with butter. Everyone who has sampled both seem to like the ones made with butter better. Just remember that you will probably have to chill the dough for at least a few hours. Definitely my new peanut blossom recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This is a standard for my family however we have found that the "Dove Promises" are considerably better in the center. The chocolate is smoother, less bitter and the shape distributes the chocolate more evenly with each bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I have tried several Peanut Blossom Cookie recipes and my family and I agree that these are the best of the bunch! They are not as crumbly and dry as many of the other recipes I have tried and the peanut butter flavor really comes through. As others suggested, I used the butter flavored shortening and it worked out well. Thanks for a great recipe that is now being added to my permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These cookies are so classic I remember helping myself to a neighbor's stash in her freezer when I was a little girl, and that was decades ago! My family and I have enjoyed them every year since. Some things are so good, so tried and true, that they are timelessly perfect. And this recipe for Peanut Blossoms is one of those. I don't know when this particular recipe originated, but if you're looking for THE recipe for Peanut Blossoms, this is it, the original. In my view, no Christmas Cookie plate is complete without them, and I know they will continue their tradition of creating fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Hey...the idea behind these cookies was good, however in reality they were not up to our standards. Actually my friend and myself ate these cookies and did not feel very good afterwards. These did not leave a warm full feeling, but instead a disturbing very sugary unsettling feeling....we couldn't eat anything the rest of the day. Perhaps it was because they actually were quite tasty and we ate 24...and then we burned some and ate those too...:-) Thanks for the fun recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Awesome cookies! Made these following the recipe exactly and baked for 11 minutes. I think my cookies were a little bigger than the recipe called for because I ended up with about 70 cookies..but I wouldn't change a thing because the size was perfect. Once cooled, they were still nice and chewy and tasted wonderful. Not too sweet with a good amount of peanut butter flavor. Took some to work and they were devoured! Thank you Rosemarie for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These turned out great....I've made them twice so far, and my kids keep begging me to make more. The first couple of batches out of the oven just dissappear...not even cooled. The kids say they are the "bomb" and best cookies that I've ever made. I didn't change a thing. This recipe also makes as many as it says it does...unlike many other recipes that fall short of how many they actually make, unless you make them extra small. This one is certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is one of my family's favorite Christmas cookies! They always turn out well. I like to make the balls 3/4 inch rather than 1 inch; that way there is more chocolate on each cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Great recipe! Always a favorite during the holidays. You do need to let these sit on a cooling rack for a while before putting them away to ensure the kiss in the center hardens after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Blossoms II

Chewy little “hats” combine the best of two worlds, chocolate and peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States