Peanut Blossoms II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Absolutely perfect! Just like my aunts! Followed recipe exactly, and it actually does make 7 dozen cookies. Little tip to keep kisses from popping off: put kisses in all the cookies on the tray, and then go back and twist them gently until you see a little melted chocolate around the edges. The melted chocolate holds them in place without losing the shape of the kiss. Be quick, or the kiss will collapse! My dough balls were about 1.5 inch, and I ended up just one cookie shy of 7 dozen. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe is fabulous. I had lost my grandmothers recipe for Peanut Blossoms and this seemed closest to hers. I substituted butter for the shortening and used Brachs milk chocolate stars instead of kisses (Grandma always used the stars). My cookies turned out scrumptious. I put the chocolate stars on after 8 minutes of baking and put the cookies back in the oven for 1 1/2 minutes. Helps the chocolate set into the cookie and makes it a little creamier after it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved the recipe. Very easy and delicious. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great recipe! I substituted butter for shortening and baked at 350 with putting kisses on 1-2 minutes before finish time (at 8 min or so) as another suggested. Will definitely keep using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great recipe, they turned out perfectly! I froze the kisses after I stuck the first batch on and they melted completely, once frozen they held their shape a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
We have had this recipe in our family recipe book since I was a little girl. My grandmother's trick was to pull the cookies out at about the 8-10 minute mark, push in the kiss, then let the cookies bake the last two minutes. The kiss keeps it shape, but now it is as soft as the cookie when you bite into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Best recipe for these cookies I have tried. They really hold together. Recipe only made 66 cookies, not 7 dozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The cookies were perfect-tasting. The peanut butter was not overwhelming. My only problem is that 2 hours later, the kisses are still not hard yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Made these cookies last Christmas. All were eaten. This year had several requests to include these cookies this year. Followed recipe exactly. I am going to try butter.. 1/2 c shortening and 1/2 c butter. Do not misunderstand. I am not trying this variation because I found fault with the cookie, but because of the two reviews I read (Liz, 2009 and CSMorris, 2003). Thanks for this recipe. My great grandma made this and until last year I have not had a good one since she passed away. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Every time I make these my kisses melt flat if I put them on as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Blossoms II

Chewy little “hats” combine the best of two worlds, chocolate and peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States