Peanut Blossoms II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I am disappointed in how these turned out - my usual recipe (which I can't find!) always turned out nice and soft/chewy and these are already hard and crunchy, and it's only been about 30 minutes since they came out of the oven. Seems like a big waste to throw them all out but I will be embarrassed to put these in my Christmas cookie trays because even though they look nice, they just aren't very good when they are so hard :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loni Malson
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is great..make amount I needed..hope co-workers like them as much as I do. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni Malson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Yum yum! I have eaten these delicious treats before, first time I made them just now??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These are the peanut blossoms that I have been making for Christmas for 15 years. They don't have a very strong peanut butter flavor in my opinion, but always turn out great. I like to make half a recipe at a time, because there are always too many goodies around this time of year. I also like to make my cookie balls extra small so there is more chocolate involved. I do throw the pan back in the oven for a minute or two after pressing the kiss into each ball to melt the chocolate a tiny bit. Also, 10-12 minutes is way too long in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
OMGOSH!!!!!! I made these cookies today and they are amazing!!! My best friend says similar peanut butter cookies I've made in the past are her favorite so I made these for her. She said these are her new favorite by far! The only changes I made were I made the cookies smaller, only 1 teaspoon of dough per cookie. The smaller size made them bake faster so they were done in about 6 minutes at 350 degrees farhenheit. I also didn't have Hershey kisses so instead I used Guittard milk chocolate baking chips. The chips are pretty similar to the mini Hershey kisses so you could probably use them as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittensamantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Great recipe! I made these last year exactly the way it is written. The taste was great, but I had a problem with them falling apart. I may have cooked them too long. This time I did half shortening and half butter. I cooked the cookies for 9 minutes at 375. I took them out and immediately put the kisses on. I kept the kisses in the fridge prior to putting them on the cookie. Once I put the kisses on I put the cookies back in the over for one minute. I let them cool and then put them in the fridge. These turned out great!!! They are not falling apart at all. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Subbed butter for shortening and lowered the temp to 350. I don't know if it's because I had little bakers helping me measure ingredients but I had to add an extra 1/4 cup of flour to make the dough workable. Baked 11 minutes, put kisses on each. Did not press before baking. If they come out and seem a little undercooked, not to worry; they do firm up! PERFECT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Fazzone
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Perfect recipe!! Finally I have found the perfect recipe for my favorite cookies!! Definitely do NOT swap the shortening for butter! With the shortening you get a perfectly soft and chewy and perfect cookie! The first batch that my daughter and I made, we followed the directions and made one inch balls and cooked them for 10 minutes at 375 degrees and we got burnt cookies. ?? the next batch I switched it up and I made slightly bigger than half an inch balls and baked them for 8 minutes at 350 degrees and we got THE PERFECT COOKIE!!! Warning, when you take them out of the oven, they are going to look like they are not quite ready yet, BUT THEY ARE. Resist your instint put them back in for another minute because you will definitely burn them. Perfect recipe! LOVES THEM. KISSES FOR EVERYONE THIS CHRISTMAS SEASON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Fazzone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ciaras
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I use choc morsels in this recipe! So much easier than unwrapping each kiss and u get choc in every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Blossoms II

Chewy little “hats” combine the best of two worlds, chocolate and peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States