Peaches and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Well, I wasn't wowed by this. I liked the idea of it and I used beautiful fresh peaches, but the sour cream just didn't work for me. The sour taste took away from the sweetness of the peaches and the little bit of brown sugar wasn't enough to compensate. The pecans were nice with the peaches. I toasted mine (350 degrees for 8-10 minutes or until fragrant).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Extremely quick - used fresh peaches and didn't peel them - light, simple and tasty sweet treat! As other reviewers suggested - I simply stirred the brown sugar into the sour cream. We did't have any nuts on hand, but it was still lovely. I will certainly be trying this with other fruit and likely using the sour cream/brown sugar combo on other items! Terrific, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very nice indeed! I skipped the sugar because my peaches were so sweet and replaced the pecans with warm toasted almonds because I had no pecans. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Awesome! This is such a quick and easy dessert. We grilled our peaches though. The combination of brown sugar and sour cream is delicious! I used toasted walnuts instead of the pecans and drizzled a little honey over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made this exactly as written, except that I just stirred the brown sugar into the sour cream. It was very tasty, fairly healthy (I used fat free sour cream) and best of all, VERY VERY SIMPLE! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! Elegant looking and very simple to make! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not a huge fan of peaches. I really don't care for canned peaches, but fresh ones are often too tart, so I'm always on the hunt for something that will solve that problem. I took others suggestions and substituted whipped cream for the sour cream. It wasn't bad though it didn't completely illiminate the tartness. The pecans were a very good combination. Next time I might give it a go with the sour cream and maybe some slightly riper peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Was definitely skeptical on the sour cream, but this is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I made this, except I used regular sugar, mixed the peaches with the sugar and sour cream, served it over pound cake slices and sprinkled the pecans on top. Everyone loved it! The peaches are so creamy when mixed together. I could eat it by itself, or with vanilla wafers or shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaTrish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Wonderful, even my oh so picky daughter gobbled this up. Easy, quick and very delicious. This will be a summer staple. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States