Peaches and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
The cake was AMAZING!!! My only problem is the same as everyone else said...the icing was so runny. I did what a few said and only used a 1/4 cup milk but that was still way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Just a regular cake with what what would have been very runny icing had I not drained the peaches well, reserved the juice, and used that in the cake, and only used half the peaches on the cake (the rest chopped and thrown into the batter). As written, this recipe just doesn't do it. I expect there to be peaches in the cake batter, not just the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by gizmokitty89
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
What a delicious cake! I substituted the french vanilla cake mix with white cake mix. I also used only 1/8 cup of milk for the frosting because it would have been too runny if not. I used fresh peaches instead of canned and it turned out delicious. One of my favorite cakes I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmokitty89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This cake is absolutely delicious! However the icing would be way to thin if you use the 1/2 cup milk listed in the recipe (hence only 4 stars..) I used the advice of other reviews and cut the milk down to 1/8 cup (2 Tbls), 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla. I also used fresh peaches instead of canned, and mixed some diced peaches into the cake batter as well. An instant favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerriann08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I found this recipe while searching for a way to use some leftover sour cream. When I saw how thick the batter was, I was afraid the cake would be dry. Wow, was I wrong! Very moist and easy to work with. I did not use the frosting/filling recipe. I made my own combination cream cheese/buttercream recipe to use the half pack of cream cheese that I had leftover. It was a good combination and I intend to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
The cake itself was delicious, but I followed what others said and only used about 1/8 cup milk. The icing was still somewhat runny, but I stuck it in the fridge and it hardened somewhat. I think when I make it again, I'll use even less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Everyone loved it. Icing if made by the recipe is too runny as others have said. Next time I will try 1/4c of milk. So if you are making this for the 1st time - gradually add your milk and test it, because you won't need the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
The cake tasted very good but the icing was pure liquid. I should have read the reviews before I made it. I will make it again, this time I will make my own icing. I wouldn't slice the cakes either, just put the peaches in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I followed the recipe word for word. The icing was way runny. And the cake was way, way too high. Next time I will not cut the cake and I will probably not add any milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The cake part was great but decided to make my own filling and frosting, from reading the other reviews. I whipped up a half pint of whipping cream and set it aside. Then I beat 4 oz of cream cheese with 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Then I folded the cream cheese mixture and whipped cream together. To that, I added some well drained finely chopped peaches. I assembled the cake and then frosted the top and sides with the whipped cream cream cheese frosting recipe from this site, and added some yellow and red food coloring to give it a peach tint. I added some peaches to the top of the cake after I had chilled the cake for quite some time, right before serving, so they wouldn't slide off! Thanks for the recipe, though, you gave me some great ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States