Peach and Strawberry Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
As other reviewers stated, the OJ really overpowered the taste. Also, don't know if the brown sugar really added anything- standard sugar would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Delicious. Tastes like frozen summer. I have a ton of fresh-frozen peaches in the freezer, and I'll be making this all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcuesta11
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
very refreshing!! i received many compliments on it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
While it was very easy to make it left me wanting something "tasty". The oj seem to overpower the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this recipe without any variations. It is promising enough that I will try variations in the future but I will not be making it exactly the way the recipe reads again. The flavor was only just okay. Though of course this is highly dependent on the quality of fruit you use so maybe I'll try again later in the summer when I can get better peaches. Also, I think that orange juice may not be the optimal choice of liquid for this recipe... I found that it really overwhelmed the peach flavor. Also, plan to eat this straight from churning because if you try to "harden" it first (as most ice cream maker instructions will advise you to do) it develops a really icy texture. Right after churning it has the beautifully silky, smooth consistancy that I want from sorbet. My guess would be that there may be a little too much water (from the juice) in the recipe so the freezing temperature of the sorbet is too high. Less juice might result in a smoother consistancy after hardening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was wonderful. I blanched the peaches briefly in boiling water to make them easier to peel. I pureed the strawberries by themselves first, then pressed them through a sieve to remove the seeds (DH doesn't like the seeds). I used a bit more strawberries than the recipe called for, probably closer to 2 cups, but I lost some of them by sieving them. The sorbet came out great. I love sorbet and now I won't have to spend a fortune for it at the grocery store. Thanks Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Did not enjoy, maybe it was the brown sugar. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Atta Boy Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was a very good sorbet recipe. I made it with my friend, and we used half of the amount of sugar called for because the fruit that we used was very ripe. It turned out great, except that it could have been a bit icier. We also used a blender instead of a food processor and it turned out fine. I'll definitely make this again, and maybe experiment with some different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States