Peach-a-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
In a word: YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent! The tartness of the raspberries goes very well with the peaches. I never thought of putting the two together. Although I doubled the amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great pie! I didn't have raspberries but had blackberries instead. I don't have good luck with fruit pies. They always fall apart and bubble out the top, so next time I think I'll make a cobbler with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Really good! I peeled and cut the peaches into cube-ish shapes, and tried to collect as much juice from them as I could, including by pressing the peels against a wire collander. Then I mashed about 1/3 of the raspberries, added the peach juice to the mash, then added about 1.5 tbsp cornstarch to the juice/mash mix and whisked it all together. Tossed that with the peach pieces and the remaining raspberries, then tossed it all with the white sugar, and poured it into the crust. I used Grandma's Secret Pie Crust from this site, and coated the top crust with an egg wash before sprinkling with sugar. This was really tasty, thickened up very well and was quite sweet - if you're not a huge sweet tooth and have very ripe fruit, you could definitely cut back on the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Amazing pie! I had lots of peaches to use up, and this pie was a hit. I used blueberries in place of raspberries, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used strawberries instead of raspberries. It was awesome! Served warm is good but cold is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I didn't change a thing with the recipe and it came out delicious! Just wonderful and sooo tasty! I can't wait to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I would have given this pie 5 stars for flavor but it was VERY runny. It still tasted great but next time I will make sure to drain the fruit and use 1 Tbl of cornstarch along with the flour. I will also add a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I did not make a double crust pie. I made a struesel topping using 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a 1/2 stick of butter mixed together and sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed someones recommendation to use part cornstarch (I did a little under 1tbs) mashed up with 1/3 of the blackberries (in season right now) and then used flour mixed in with the peaches and other blackberries for the remaining 2tbs. *Helpful Hint* To remove the skin from peaches try blanching them; 30-45 seconds in boiling hot water taken off the heat followed by 15 seconds in an ice bath (to keep the peach from continuing to cook). The skin slipped right off into my fingers :). I made this with "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" and the shortbready like flavor was a perfect complement to this recipe. I'm submitting the two pies I made into a contest tomorrow, wish me luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
So yummy! Made it exactly as written. Worked great because I had super sweet white peaches that were hard like apples, so it held together nicely without getting squishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States