Peach Wrinkle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The name of this dessert is just cute as a bug and it’s what drew me to the recipe. I was so lucky for it! This is one of THE best desserts I’ve made in recent memory. Granted, I really lucked out with beautiful, perfectly ripe, juicy and blemish-free peaches and the importance of that must be underscored. But the best peach in the world wouldn’t help a bad recipe. This one is absolutely beyond any criticism. None. Zip. Loved the sweet peaches just as is – no cinnamon or other spices, no thickening agents, no butter, vanilla (as it seems so many are often wont to add) or anything else extraneous. Just pure sweet peach flavor. As for the cake-like topping, mmm, good. Buttery, moist and tender cake which could not have been a better partner for those sweet, juicy peaches. I added a handful of dried cherries to the peaches and I sprinkled the top with sanding sugar before baking. While both were nice additions, neither was necessary, nor was the dessert necessarily any better for those additions. The baking directions were helpful and the time and temperature spot on accurate. Pansy Petals, you indicated this recipe has been in your family for generations and it is completely understandable why. Thanks for sharing your family’s special recipe - it’s a jewel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This peach cobbler was very good! I kept it in a little longer in the oven, and it browned very nicely. Besides that, I sprinkled a small amount of sugar on the top to add a tad more sweetness. I would add a little more peaches, as my recipe turned out more bread-y than fruity. However, my family and I thought it was very good and this recipe was a hit for dessert. Also tastes delicious with a dollop of ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneAustenite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
A nice way to enjoy peaches for dessert. I used an additional peach and added a splash of vanilla. It came out tasting a bit eggy, so next time, I'd probably just use one egg, or one egg and one white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Everyone really liked this. My peaches were on the small side so I used a 9x9 pan. It was too much cake mixture for that small of a pan. I had to cook it way longer than specified. Next time I will use a lot more peaches and use a 9x13 dish. I also thought it could of used a little more sugar. I think a good sprinkle on top would help. There was no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
A total and utter bust. When I checked it at 40 minutes, the center was still not set. I baked it an additional 10 minutes, and it still wasn't done. Went a further 25 minutes, and although the center seemed to spring back at that point, it collapsed while cooling, a classic sign of under baking. Yup. Sure enough, when the crust was broken to dish it up, the center revealed a raw, gooey, semi-liquid mess. I regularly check the calibration on my oven's temperature, so that wasn't the problem. The edges were crispy, due to the added bake time, and the flavor was decent. Recipe was followed exactly, and measurements were triple checked. All in all, a sad, disappointing waste of some gorgeous (and expensive) peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I had to use canned peaches because I couldn't find peaches anywhere (it's December), but it was still great. I sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon on top of the peaches before I spread the batter. Our favorite part was the cake topping, it was soo good! Can't wait to try this with fresh peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe is as wonderful as it's name. I have made it several times without a problem. Just love it.. This is not a cobbler or a crisp, it's a "wrinkle" and amazing with our fresh peaches, or as the recipe suggest, other fresh fruits. A slight adjustment in temperature for me when I bake in a glass pan I do this at 325 degrees. Never had a problem with under baking. Just touch the top, if it springs back it's done! If you use someone else's recipe and make all sorts of changes on your own and don't like it, well it's not the original recipe and you should not review it as such. This is perfect and a real keeper for my family...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Turned out awesome, exactly what I imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Eh, just barely ok......I have had much better. This seems to be missing something, maybe some kind of spice? Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Like another review, the name of this recipe is what drew me to it. Just had to make it. I had just a small bowl full of diced peaches left after a day of canning, so I was looking for something to help me use those up. I halved this recipe, baked it in a pie plate for 25 minutes, and it is beautiful, and also very good! It's not really a cobbler, so there is not all the juice in the bottom of the pan. If you prefer something more like that, the ice cream idea mentioned by other reviewers sounds like a plan to me! This is not overly sweet, and there are no competing flavors. Just a simple, classic comfort food recipe. This one's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States