Peach Whirligigs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The first time I made this dessert I followed the directions exactly and was not at all pleased with the result. There was an excessive amount of sickeningly sweet syrup and the peaches ended up tasting just like canned peaches, which was NOT my intent. On subsequent attempts I reduced the amount of water, white sugar and cornstarch by at least half; added an extra peach or two; substituted brown sugar for the 2 TBSP white sugar in the roll-up mixture; added butter and chopped walnuts to the roll-up mixture; and added the peaches to the boiling water/sugar/cornstarch concoction only for a few minutes to avoid them becoming too soft. Note that (as directed) it's important to have the peach sauce HOT before putting the rolls on top. If you don't, the underside of the rolls will remain doughy and uncooked. With modifications, this is a very nice recipe. I'll look forward to trying it with apples in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Super delicious! I didn't have fresh peaches so I used a 15oz can of peach slices in juice and chopped them a bit and followed with the rest of the recipe. This was very simple to throw together recipe and is so very versatile. We ate them with a side of vanilla ice cream. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I tried this tonight, and loved it. I used 7 peaches as mine were quite small. I had some peaches in the fridge that were horrible to eat, so thought try cooking them, they were worse peaches I have ever worked with, they were dry and hard and plain awful. But this recipe turned out great and peaches tasted fine. I used all brown sugar that was only change I made, will certainly use this again and will try with apples as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
These were okay. I thought the flavor of the biscuit mix was to much like a biscuit rather than a coffee cake type. I will use this recipe again but use my own biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Too sweet. Takes away from flavour of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Okay I hate to do this but boy was this bad. They were swimming in a pool of goo. No one would eat them. I was so upset to waste all of those peaches. Sadly I wouldn't even try to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are great! I don't like cinnimon rolls with white sugar so subbed brown sugar and added a little lemon juice to the peach mixture. I was dubious that 1 min of boiling would give a proper consistancy so I boiled way longer than that. When it was the texture I wanted I poured in a greased pan. Also~ it was too sweet, but I don't know why some reviews are being so picky about that! It's fruit! Every piece will have a different sweetness level and astandard measurement will NEVER work for a fuit pie/cobbler/pie. You need to sample as you cook. I started at 1/2 c. Of sugar and worked up from there. I did forget to factor in the sugar from the cinnamon roll so it was a little too sweet for us. Also, next time I will do a rough chop on the peaches. I am wondering now if a can of peaches in heavy syrup could be boiled until thick and used as an lazy ice cream topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bayfield
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was really delicious! I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar for apple mixture.I also added a small amount of cinnamon to the apple mixture. I will also double the roll recipe next time. I used 5 large fresh apples, and I could have used 6 or 7. All in all it was delicious and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is really good! Mine ended up too much for an 8x8 pan. Had to use a 9x13 but that worked fine. Wonderful flavor! Will definitely make again but will use less water as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States