Peach Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
We enjoyed! The batter looked too wet- I used an additional 1/3 cup flour and this made it very cake-like. One reviewer said hers came out more like bread pudding.(should have increased the cinnamon, almond too!) I used brown sugar for bottom only. next time i will use all brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Pretty good. Like some other reviewers, I used brown sugar for the bottom/top (with the peaches). Other than that, more or less followed the recipe as posted. I probably used half again as many peaches (because I had them on hand). It does not make a really substantial cake, essentially little more than a vehicle for delivering the peaches. Nice texture, not "bready" at all, but is, rather, not the spongey cake so frequently encountered. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this in my skillet and it was yummy, it was my first time baking something in it and I could really taste the good difference! Make sure the peaches are really ripe or they wont peal very easy and will be kinda bitter. This isn't a very sweet cake though so if you like it sweet definately add more sugar (I think its great not so sweet though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This tastes great. I made mine in a bunt pan. If using a bunt pan, I suggest cutting your peaches into 1/8's instead of halving them, so that they cook through a little better. Be sure to invert onto a plate a few minutes after it comes out of the oven. This was great with fresh peaches and tasted like peach cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was pretty good. The only changes I made was that I used brown sugar for the topping that goes in the bottom of the pan and I made in a bundt pan as I thought the one in the picture looked better. It came out pretty but there wasn't quite enough cake in my opinion. It was basically peaches with a little bit of cake bread stuck to the bottom of them. Maybe the bundt pan is bigger than the cast iron so that may be my fault. Next time I make I will double the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was very good! I think next time I'll use brown sugar for the topping - otherwise I can't complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Just ate a serving of this cake.YUMMO!At first I thought it needed to be sweeter but after eating, it was sweet enough.It would be a good coffee cake.I cooked it in my cast iron skillet,it came out perfectly & was so pretty.A welcome change from peach cobbler.The only change I made was adding 2tbs of butter to my melting sugar at the start of preparation.I also used some white peaches & nectarines that needed to be eaten.Next time I may try crushed pecans for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allanita
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I had fun making this cake. I don't have a iron cast skillet. I used a non-stick bundt cake mold and it worked fine, just remember to unmold while warm(check out my picture). It tastes great. I didn't have almond extract so I just put vanilla. I will try this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This recipe is also great with apricots!! And super easy to make. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I am giving this 2 stars-although I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used canned peaches and fresh mango. It isn't the fruit that I don't like though-I just thought it wasn't that great. I made it for a baby shower and it didn't carmelize very well on top, and the 'cake' part was more bread-y than cake-y. I can see making this at home when I want something sweet without a lot of calories, but its really not that great imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States