Peach Upside Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I just made it. I replaced shortenning with applesauce to make the recipe fat free. And instead of orange juice added the juice from the peaches can. IT IS GREAT. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I read through all of the reviews first, and let me just say that: I used regular all-purpose flour, omitted the cherries, used the canned peach juice instead of orange, skipped the zest altogether and replaced shortening with 1/3c applesauce. [I have never used applesauce as a replacement in baking, this was my first attempt, and the cake came out delicious.] Also, I do not have a round dish of any sort so I used what I believe is 8x8 or 8x10 glass Pyrex dish. This cake is not tough or chewy, but denser than, say, birthday cake, and it is sooo good paired with the peach juices, etc. I had canned peaches on hand and went looking for a recipe in which to use them. This is it! I am so happy because the ingredients called for are usually staples in most pantries. It was pretty simple to make, and can be a fancy treat for guests on a short notice! I did not find the recipe to be too sweet like others mentioned. I know that having cavities can heighten your discomfort when eating sugary foods, so I will just assume that some people will find this too sweet and others will not. This recipe is outstanding.. And I am bringing my leftovers to my co-workers this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Cake was spectacular, everyone loved it. I noted that the reipe called for cake flour. Where I come from cake flour is self-raising, it has baking soda mixed with the flour. This could be why some folks are haing overflow problems. I used all purpose flour and the 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and the recipe was pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I didn't have the zest or the orange juice so I used the juice from the can of peaches. The first time I made this, it overflowed all over my oven. I put some tinfoil under the next time and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this was a very good recipe. use whatever juice you want if you dont have orange juice on hand. it is conveinent to use the juice from the can because it is exactly the right amount. thank you for sharing this recipe. it is not fancy, but tasty, soft, perfect texture and sweetness...very nice change from pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Quick, easy, simple dessert. I did sub applesauce for the shortening and reduced the sugar in the cake batter. With all that sweet yummy-ness on top the cake didn't need to be sweet for me. I'm sure I will make this again and will try another reviewers idea of adding some vanilla to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I initially thought that the batter would be insufficient. I used half peaches instead of sliced and the batter barely covered the peaches. I also used butter instead of shortening because that is what I had. I also used the peach juice as suggested by the other reviews. After baking, the cake rose beautifully! The cake to half-peach ratio was perfect. I will be bringing this to our next family pot-luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juby Sunil
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Very yummy and moist cake.The brown sugar gives it a wonderful caramel taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juby Sunil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kochi, Kerala, India
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I also substituted the orange juice and used the peace juice. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States