Peach Upside Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I read through all of the reviews first, and let me just say that: I used regular all-purpose flour, omitted the cherries, used the canned peach juice instead of orange, skipped the zest altogether and replaced shortening with 1/3c applesauce. [I have never used applesauce as a replacement in baking, this was my first attempt, and the cake came out delicious.] Also, I do not have a round dish of any sort so I used what I believe is 8x8 or 8x10 glass Pyrex dish. This cake is not tough or chewy, but denser than, say, birthday cake, and it is sooo good paired with the peach juices, etc. I had canned peaches on hand and went looking for a recipe in which to use them. This is it! I am so happy because the ingredients called for are usually staples in most pantries. It was pretty simple to make, and can be a fancy treat for guests on a short notice! I did not find the recipe to be too sweet like others mentioned. I know that having cavities can heighten your discomfort when eating sugary foods, so I will just assume that some people will find this too sweet and others will not. This recipe is outstanding.. And I am bringing my leftovers to my co-workers this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I also substituted the orange juice and used the peace juice. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I just made it. I replaced shortenning with applesauce to make the recipe fat free. And instead of orange juice added the juice from the peaches can. IT IS GREAT. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Excellente'..Very moist cake..delicious my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Cake was spectacular, everyone loved it. I noted that the reipe called for cake flour. Where I come from cake flour is self-raising, it has baking soda mixed with the flour. This could be why some folks are haing overflow problems. I used all purpose flour and the 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and the recipe was pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I initially thought that the batter would be insufficient. I used half peaches instead of sliced and the batter barely covered the peaches. I also used butter instead of shortening because that is what I had. I also used the peach juice as suggested by the other reviews. After baking, the cake rose beautifully! The cake to half-peach ratio was perfect. I will be bringing this to our next family pot-luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is By far one of the best cake recipes I have ever used. Substituting the shortening with a no sugar added applesauce and substituted the sugars both brown and white with the spleda sugars blends. Having Diabetes, this was a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Simple to make, and what a great way to use all those cans of peaches I collect for this very reason. I also used applesauce instead of lard. I also used the left over peach juice, turns out it was 1/2 cup exactly. Delicious cake.TY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdwater
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Oka. I thought this sounded great. But I did make some changes. I don't use shortening, so I used applesauce and instead of orange juice and zest, I used 1/2 cup of the peach juice from the drained peaches. AMAZING!! We loved it. I tried it tonight with canned apples and the juice from the jar, it is AMAZING!! We love it. Its fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States