Peach Upside Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
It's OK- nothing really special but fine. I'm not sure I would go out of my way to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Cake was spectacular, everyone loved it. I noted that the reipe called for cake flour. Where I come from cake flour is self-raising, it has baking soda mixed with the flour. This could be why some folks are haing overflow problems. I used all purpose flour and the 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and the recipe was pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I notice a lot of people substituting applesauce for the shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmom74
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Excellente'..Very moist cake..delicious my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this was a very good recipe. use whatever juice you want if you dont have orange juice on hand. it is conveinent to use the juice from the can because it is exactly the right amount. thank you for sharing this recipe. it is not fancy, but tasty, soft, perfect texture and sweetness...very nice change from pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
The real problem I had with this cake is that it tasted sweet, but didn't tase like anything else. The brown sugar/butter mixture overwhelms the peaches and the the orange juice and zest in the cake is so sublte as to be nonexistent. Basically, this cake tasted like nothing. Cake rapidly overflowed the pan, but since I had a 9x13 underneath I didn't make too much mess. The problem came when I tried to invert it onto a plate and it fell apart. Still, we thought it smelled great so we tried to eat it anyway despite how it looked and were sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Quick, easy, simple dessert. I did sub applesauce for the shortening and reduced the sugar in the cake batter. With all that sweet yummy-ness on top the cake didn't need to be sweet for me. I'm sure I will make this again and will try another reviewers idea of adding some vanilla to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is a VERY sweet cake. Toothachingly sweet. Would cut back on both sugars next time around though am not sure how much the texture would be affected. Used 1 1/2 cups flour since I read the recipe wrong and 1/4cup of that was bread flour because I ran out of cake flour -- how much that changed the texture from the original recipe, I don't know. But it was a very moist, cottony soft yet dense cake, very good. Baked it in an 8in round pyrex deep dish, it was a lot of batter, though it shrank to a regular 8" layer when cooled a bit. Also added vanilla extract, unsweetened coconut flakes, and omitted cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I didn't have the zest or the orange juice so I used the juice from the can of peaches. The first time I made this, it overflowed all over my oven. I put some tinfoil under the next time and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States