Peach Upside Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I'm not a baker, so imagine my surprise when this came out great!! This was a lovely little cake that solved the problem my sweet tooth was having. I sprinkled some powdered sugar and slapped a scoop of homemade whipped cream next to it to complete the picture. Had I really been thinkin, I would've stuck a little mint leaf on top, like the pros do. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I liked this because it was different but the "cake" part was very dry and tasteless. Needs more peach taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by halfBaked1280
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I'm normally not one to substitute when trying a recipe but I had no choice on this one. I was looking for a recipe that didn't use cake mix and this was it! My changes were: all purpose-flour instead of the cake flour, juice from the canned peaches instead of orange juice, skipped the zest. I didn't measure out the peaches either, just layed them in the bottom of a pie plate in a spiral pattern until they covered the bottom. After the recommended resting time, the cake came out of the plate perfectly. The texture of the cake is denser which I happen to love. As one reviewer mentioned, if you don't use the orange juice than the cake isn't that sweet. I tasted the batter and it was so dull so I added about 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. I didn't mind the lack of sweetness in the cake but I think for more flavor, next time I'll add some almond extract and half the shortening with butter for more richness. This was my first upside down cake and it came out beautiful and everyone loved it! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Oka. I thought this sounded great. But I did make some changes. I don't use shortening, so I used applesauce and instead of orange juice and zest, I used 1/2 cup of the peach juice from the drained peaches. AMAZING!! We loved it. I tried it tonight with canned apples and the juice from the jar, it is AMAZING!! We love it. Its fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Simple to make, and what a great way to use all those cans of peaches I collect for this very reason. I also used applesauce instead of lard. I also used the left over peach juice, turns out it was 1/2 cup exactly. Delicious cake.TY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdwater
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is By far one of the best cake recipes I have ever used. Substituting the shortening with a no sugar added applesauce and substituted the sugars both brown and white with the spleda sugars blends. Having Diabetes, this was a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I made this for my fiancé as a surprise when he came home from work. It was great because I already had all of the ingredients in the pantry and didn't have to go to the store!! It turned out great! The only thing I would suggest is if you are using the juice from the peach can instead of orange juice, you may want to add a bit more sugar. Don't get me wrong, it turned out wonderfully but wasn't quite sweet enough. Also, best eaten warm! Makes a great light cake/coffee cake! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I initially thought that the batter would be insufficient. I used half peaches instead of sliced and the batter barely covered the peaches. I also used butter instead of shortening because that is what I had. I also used the peach juice as suggested by the other reviews. After baking, the cake rose beautifully! The cake to half-peach ratio was perfect. I will be bringing this to our next family pot-luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I also substituted the orange juice and used the peace juice. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I read through all of the reviews first, and let me just say that: I used regular all-purpose flour, omitted the cherries, used the canned peach juice instead of orange, skipped the zest altogether and replaced shortening with 1/3c applesauce. [I have never used applesauce as a replacement in baking, this was my first attempt, and the cake came out delicious.] Also, I do not have a round dish of any sort so I used what I believe is 8x8 or 8x10 glass Pyrex dish. This cake is not tough or chewy, but denser than, say, birthday cake, and it is sooo good paired with the peach juices, etc. I had canned peaches on hand and went looking for a recipe in which to use them. This is it! I am so happy because the ingredients called for are usually staples in most pantries. It was pretty simple to make, and can be a fancy treat for guests on a short notice! I did not find the recipe to be too sweet like others mentioned. I know that having cavities can heighten your discomfort when eating sugary foods, so I will just assume that some people will find this too sweet and others will not. This recipe is outstanding.. And I am bringing my leftovers to my co-workers this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States