Peach Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in a 9x13 pan so I doubled the recipe. I used way more peaches than called for and mistakenly sliced them. I was out of milk and butter so I used buttermilk and oil which I had on hand. I added almond favoring to the peaches and vanilla to the batter. Because of the buttermilk, I added a touch of baking soda as well. Not sure how it will work out. If it doesn't work it will be because I altered it too much but what can you do? Ok- it is out of the oven and cooled. Absolutely delicious. The cake is tender and moist. Tons of fruit. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this recipe in an 8 inch round pan, with the peaches in a spiral so it looked really lovely. My main problem was that in the round pan, by 25 minutes at 375 the outside of the cake was burning, while underneath it was totally raw. I lowered the temperate to 350 and cooked in awhile longer, which worked (although the outside layer was too overdone) but if I try it again I'm definitely cooking it at 350 instead. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp almond extract as others suggested. It tasted good, but was definitely a heavier coffee cake type cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this cake the other day and i thought it was tasty and had a good texture. I was worried that it would be a bit wet, but I thought it actually needed some peach juice poured over the cake before serving. The only thing preventing five stars was having the mixture or sugar and butter over the cake tin created a glue that the peaches stayed stuck to when I turned the cake upside down! Quickly fixed but meant presentation was a bit iffy....... Definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awesome .... 9 x 9 pan ... 30 minutes ... perfection :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My husband loves this! Almost like a pudding as opposed to a cake. Quite dense but that could be to me practically steaming the cake! Used a springform pan and it leaked big time! So I put a tray with water on rack below. Have since read that I should envelop the pan in foil to catch the leaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is my second time making this cake and my family has enjoyed it both times. I agree with some people when they said that the cake part was a little bit bland so this time I added cinnamon and vanilla to the batter. I turned out very well. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I didn't have milk, so I substituted vanilla yogurt. It turned out great and very moist. I did add some nutmeg and cinnamon to the top of the cake before cooking it, but those were the only changes. My daughter and I at half of it and had a hard time stopping. Can't wait to finish it tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I'm not sure what exactly happened. I followed the recipe but made the peaches in slices and placed them in a 9in round. It's so soggy I'm ashamed to bring it to work. Anyone else have this happen to them? Cake definitely needed some flavor help too. Giving this 2 stars because I'm guessing I should have just done the peach halves in an 8x8. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Made it tonight with my 14 year old grandson. We did not change anything. It was delicious with the fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandora070

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States