Peach Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I made this in a 10-in. round cake pan. I didn't have any nutmeg, so I used cinnamon instead. I also used fresh, sliced peaches and added the extra juice to the cake batter. They were really juicy peaches, and there was a lot of juice around the sides of the pan when I spread the batter over the top. But the cake turned out beautifully. It was done right around 40 min. We had warm slices topped with whipped cream—divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is a very good recipe. I couldn't get fresh peaches so I used drained, canned peaches. When I turned the cake over I left the cake pan on for awhile to help hold the cake together while it cooled. It turned out beautifuly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
It is delicious. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9X13 inch pan as I have so many peaches to use up. It turned out fine. I would highly reccomend this one and would suggest you use butter instead of margarine if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMATULLAH
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I made this recipe for my mother, I used canned peaches instead and in the batter I used 1/2 cup of oil instead of the butter. The cake was SO FLUFFY and good that my mother just LOVED it! I will be making this recipe again.. Thanks! Note: I will try pineapple too and I'm sure it will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was my first time making an upside down cake. I must admit this is now my new favorite recipe. I used fresh peaches and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It was delicious. I have four kids 2 of which are fairly picky and they also gobbled it up. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a very moist, tasty and good cake. I read the reviews about the bland cake. I then added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. almond flavoring. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I used leftover fresh peaches that I had sliced with a little sugar the night before. I poured the peaches and the juice in the bottom of the pan. It all cooked into the cake and made a very pretty and moist looking cake. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
Quick, easy and delicious! Great for when fresh peaches are in season. Cake is moist and not too sweet. Best eaten the same day that you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
this is an excellent cake, also added some cinnomin to it, which really added to the flavor...also need to check cake after 50 mins baking time...mine took an extra to mins to bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
this cake was AWESOME!!!! i actually used an 7&1/4x11&3/4 pan insted of the 8x8 which also required an extra peach. i served it warm with evaporated milk which made the cake a little sweeter. this is DEFINATELY a must with all those fresh peaches!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
We all absolutely loved this cake! It was so moist and delicious! I used sliced peaches instead of the halves and I think that worked a lot better. The only problem I had was that I had to cook it 55 minutes since at 40 the middle was still very runny. That meant the edges got burned, but since it's an upside down cake I was able to cut them off easily and no one was the wiser (except my husband when he found the edges in the trash).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States