Peach Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a very moist, tasty and good cake. I read the reviews about the bland cake. I then added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. almond flavoring. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I used leftover fresh peaches that I had sliced with a little sugar the night before. I poured the peaches and the juice in the bottom of the pan. It all cooked into the cake and made a very pretty and moist looking cake. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMATULLAH
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I made this recipe for my mother, I used canned peaches instead and in the batter I used 1/2 cup of oil instead of the butter. The cake was SO FLUFFY and good that my mother just LOVED it! I will be making this recipe again.. Thanks! Note: I will try pineapple too and I'm sure it will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was my first time making an upside down cake. I must admit this is now my new favorite recipe. I used fresh peaches and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It was delicious. I have four kids 2 of which are fairly picky and they also gobbled it up. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe is so easy and the end result is WONDERFUL! I followed suggestions and added vanilla,cinamon and some of the peach juice...had to use canned because the peaches in the store were HARD...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This was OK, the cake part was a little bland, maybe some vanilla or almond extract would make it a little more interesting. The presentation leaves a bit to be desired - I think I would slice peaches and maybe do a spiral design in a round pan if I tried this again, The peach halves just looked like big hunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
It is delicious. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9X13 inch pan as I have so many peaches to use up. It turned out fine. I would highly reccomend this one and would suggest you use butter instead of margarine if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I varied the recipe a little like the other cook by adding some almond extract. I didn't have fresh peach but used drained canned peaches, cutting the sugar in the recipe by 1/3. Otherwise, this was exceptionally delicious! It tasted like something my grandmother would make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe which I made my own with a couple changes: added fresh strawberries added cinnamon to the nutmeg and brown sugar added vanilla extract to the cake replace regular milk with buttermilk. The cake was moist and delicious. A great treat for kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is a very good recipe. I couldn't get fresh peaches so I used drained, canned peaches. When I turned the cake over I left the cake pan on for awhile to help hold the cake together while it cooled. It turned out beautifuly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
A delicious recipe, no doubt. Check your cake carefully, though; mine took about 55 minutes to bake. I would recommend letting it cool longer than listed, too, as mine fell apart when I flipped it out onto a plate. But crumbled or not, it's definitely tasty, and not very difficult. (Especially great when you have lots of leftover ripe peaches!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States