Peach Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TAVIAJLS
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This turned out fabulous. I followed another cook's advice and added some almond extract--just perfect! It had a great flavor and my cake wasn't crumbly at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe was so simple and so delicious! I invited my grandparents over for dinner and made this for dessert and my grandmother took the recipe home with her! (That's saying a lot too!) Thanks for a yummy finish to a wonderful evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
We all absolutely loved this cake! It was so moist and delicious! I used sliced peaches instead of the halves and I think that worked a lot better. The only problem I had was that I had to cook it 55 minutes since at 40 the middle was still very runny. That meant the edges got burned, but since it's an upside down cake I was able to cut them off easily and no one was the wiser (except my husband when he found the edges in the trash).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Not bad...I would rather use slices instead of the halves. I enjoyed it with some ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was my first time making an upside down cake. I must admit this is now my new favorite recipe. I used fresh peaches and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It was delicious. I have four kids 2 of which are fairly picky and they also gobbled it up. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is a very moist, tasty and good cake. I read the reviews about the bland cake. I then added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. almond flavoring. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I used leftover fresh peaches that I had sliced with a little sugar the night before. I poured the peaches and the juice in the bottom of the pan. It all cooked into the cake and made a very pretty and moist looking cake. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This was OK, the cake part was a little bland, maybe some vanilla or almond extract would make it a little more interesting. The presentation leaves a bit to be desired - I think I would slice peaches and maybe do a spiral design in a round pan if I tried this again, The peach halves just looked like big hunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Very good cake! I didn't have fresh peaches so I used 2 cans of sliced. Drained first, but either there was still too much liquid left or too many peaches because the center didn't cook all the way. The flavor is awesome though; I topped with a dab of cool whip. Definately a keeper! Thank you Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly and it seemed to be a little soggy, which might have come from the amount of brown sugar called for. The taste and presentation were great which is why I gave it four stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I made this in a 10-in. round cake pan. I didn't have any nutmeg, so I used cinnamon instead. I also used fresh, sliced peaches and added the extra juice to the cake batter. They were really juicy peaches, and there was a lot of juice around the sides of the pan when I spread the batter over the top. But the cake turned out beautifully. It was done right around 40 min. We had warm slices topped with whipped cream—divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States