Peach Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Not being a great fan of pineapple I have never had an upside down cake. I saw this one that used peaches and thought this would be a good introduction to this kind of cake. I followed the recipe without changing anything. What a nice turnout. The sliced peaches made the cake pretty enough for company. The overall taste and texture were elegant. Thanks for posting the recipe Judy Wilson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My nieghbor gave me five large peaches and I had to do something with them as they were getting overripe. I sliced my peaches and since they were large, I increased the recipe by 1/2 and used 9x13. I used 2 eggs. I did not increase the peaches. I also added cinnamon and allspice. It was real good hot. A keeper. A delightful change from pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good! I sliced my peaches and used about 3 and they were plenty for an 8X8 inch dish. Judge according to the size of your peaches. I think I might add more butter and sugar in the top part. I like it a bit more gooey, it kind of got lost in the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Fantastic! A wonderfully textured basic cake that gets the flavor from the peaches and brown sugar. I'm saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
We loved this cake. I made a few changes myself. I uped the recipe by 1/4 for the cake pan size I had to work with. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the brown sugar/nutmeg mixture. After I mixed the melted butter & brwn sgr mxtr, I added 1 1/2 tsp of granadine sauce by dropping a little in each area where the peachs would be (instead of marachino cherries). I added 1 tsp vanilla extract to egg/sugar mixture. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and used fat free milk. the wheat cake had a neat texture and yummy taste. Very tasty with vanilla ice cream melting on the side of the warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home Chef Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I varied the recipe a little like the other cook by adding some almond extract. I didn't have fresh peach but used drained canned peaches, cutting the sugar in the recipe by 1/3. Otherwise, this was exceptionally delicious! It tasted like something my grandmother would make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I used this recipe to make Apricot Upside Down Cake and it turned out totally scrumptious!! I didn't really make any changes though, I didn't make this in a 9x13 pan because of which this baked faster ( the cake layer was just a little less than an inch), but everyone loved it this way coz it turned out better with ice-cream!! Oh and do add 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1-1/2 tsp of vanilla to the cake batter it turns out even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by violet
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I mainly used it as a jumping off point. I used fresh pears not peaches, added pecans to the brown sugar mix, and then dusted the pears with cinnimon. I doubled the cake so I could use a 9x13 and also added vanilla to it. The cake was still a little bland and I also had some issues turning the cake out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Buttery, easy. delicious. I added a bit of vanilla extract and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar to the batter. Easy Easy recipe, will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Wonderful!! Delicious!! I used fresh peach slices. I read the reviews and added cinnamon with brown sugar. I added almond flavoring to the batter. I made it in a 10" square pan so I made 1 1/2 times the recipe-using 2 eggs. It took 40 mins to bake. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States