Peach Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
The cake was very fluffy when warm, but more of a coffee cake texture once cool. I added some cinnamon to the batter, but overall I didn't feel like this was anything special. Simply put - we ate the whole cake, but I can think of several other ways I'd rather use 1.5 sticks of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This cake is truly good. I used more peach than called for because I needed to use up many that were too ripe and even with what that did as in adding extra bulk and juice, this cake was delicious. It absorbed the excess and was incredible. I was hoping to share these with family and friends so I made a number of small cakes, baking them in individual crocks. Well, so much for giving away homemade goodies...we went through these puppies one after another while they were still hot. Follow the recipe, it's a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICATER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kworkman63
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I added Marascino cherries and a little more spices (pumpkin pie spice) and it came out fabulous. This is great for family and friends. UPDATE: I found that it needed less baking time for me @ 30 mins. plus I think a little more milk. It was a tiny bit dry but that couldve been from baking too long. A true favorite! Even my mother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kworkman63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a nice cake although i felt it was more a pudding than a cake to be honest. i used tinned peaches as i didnt have fresh, but maybe i didnt drain them well enough as the cake was very syrupy, this is not to say it wasnt nice though. i added some cinnamon to the peaches and some vanilla to the sponge, it was very moist and delicious served with double cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
3.5 Tasted good but WHAT a mess!!! Maybe my peaches were extra juicy? Couldn't have baked it more as the top was quite brown. Best I stick to crumbles I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KERLY87
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I doubled this recipe to put in a 9x13 inch pan. (See photo) I did add vanilla after reading the reviews. My husband and I are diabetic so I used Splenda brown sugar blend in place of regular brown sugar and spenda grandular in splace of sugar. I also used a diet margarine in place of butter. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat pastry flour. Even though I did all that, the cake turned out great. We really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I doubled this recipe and used fresh peaches. They were extremely juice and really threw off the consistency of the final product. Next time I might cook down the peaches in the brown sugar sauce for a while first and then add the cake batter topping. Very flavorful and best eaten on the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've made this twice, dry both times. I even used oil the 2nd time...shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
So good! I sliced and sugared my peaches, then let them set overnight, and added 1 tsp each of vanilla and cinnamon when making up the cake. I also used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white in place of the 1/2 cup white called for. My peaches were pretty juicy, so once the cake was browned, I reduced the heat to about 250 and let it cook until the liquid had reduced. This came out delicious! I served it with vanilla ice cream - this is a great way to use up peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Loved this cake! Two friends who claim to not like peaches both tried it and said it was delicious! It is best eaten warm, so I put one piece in the microwave for about 25 seconds and it was good to go. I spiced my batter up with vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg, and added just a light sprinkle of ground ginger over the peaches before I added the batter. I doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan and the batter was very thick. I thought I had messed something up, as I actually had to spoon and spread the batter over the peaches and throughout the pan, but it turned out fine. Its taste and texture reminds me of eating Peach Cobbler. Awesome! Thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States