Peach Surprise Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Substituted half the cream cheese for sour cream because of what we had on hand, replaced sugar with honey, and added 2T lime juice like someone else mentioned. Skipped the raspberry topping. All ages LOVED it! One of the best cheese pies I have had (I've had many). I don't think the cheese pie would work without the fruit topping. It's not overly sweet like many pies are. Next time we'll try a different fruit. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Made 2- one with graham cracker crust and one pastry- Graham cracker was by far better and a bigger hit! I used homemade raspberry-peach jam for the preserves. I think next time I'll add some lime juice/lime zest to make it pop. I did as other reviewers on adding 1 small vanilla pudding & 3/4 cup milk to the cream cheese. Also, I used fresh peaches and added it right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I read through the review's carefully before I made this pie. I did choose to make a graham crust for this pie instead of using a pastry pie crust. Though the filling was nice, I think it was a little heavy when paired with the peaches and raspberry drizzle. I think I might play with this recipe a bit, then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My wife and kids really liked it. (I have to take their word for it because I don't like peaches.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
You created an amazing base recipe! I made this like so many others with pudding/milk and the graham cracker I recipe from this site with cinnamon, nutmeg and clove in the crust as well as the peach mixture. I also added about 2 Tbsp of key lime juice to the cream cheese base to give it that fresh summery kick. WOW! Thanks for an amazing idea (recipes like this that are great no matter how they are done are my favorite!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was nice for a simple dessert. However, I found the cream cheese layer heavy in texture and flavor - it needs something to break up the taste of the cheese and lighten up the texture. I actually like the suggestion from the reviewer who added the vanilla pudding and milk. I would try that. I also tried out the French Pastry crust recipe from this site (another great reviewer suggestion) which was wonderful, but I actually think this recipe is more suited to a vanilla cookie or graham crumb crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely delicious. First pie I ever made, and I cannot get enough of it! I made this with a French Pastry Crust ( recipe on this site) that was sweet and rich with flavor, and it only made the Peach Surprise that more amazing. Highly recommended on both recipes that love flavorful food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fhugs03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this as a torte with a gingersnap crust, garnished with fresh blackberries it was not only delicious but beautiful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a fantastic summer pie, very refreshing. Next time I think I'll layer slightly differently. Perhaps half the cream cheese, then half the peaches then raspberry sauce. Repeat. Also, I'd use more peaches and raspberry sauce and put chopped mint mixed into the preserves and lemon juice. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I almost didn't rate b/c I did need to change it up some. I added a pkg . of vanilla pudding and about 3/4 cup of milk to help it set up quickly. I used a graham crust as suggested by another reviewer, too. Fresh peaches and berries on top that I tossed in some homemade strawberry jam. Very pretty & nice for a summer day when you would rather leave your oven off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States