Peach Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Awesome! This was my first attempt at canning and it went great. I did add a few fresh tomatoes to the salsa, and I did not add the extra 3 1/2 cups of sugar. I can't imagine how sweet it would be if I had. My peaches were very ripe and I think that the salsa has a good sweet/tangy taste. If you want a hotter salsa, I would add more jalepenos or keep the seeds in them. I doubled the recipes and ended up with 11 jars of salsa! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Great recipe! I cut the amount of sugar and added more peaches. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was awesome. I did do some touching up though. I didn't add any sugar since my peaches were very sweet and ripe and I added a 32 ounce can of chopped tomatoes and a 4 ounce can of tomato paste. I also only used 1 jalapeno since my kids would be eating it. I made 15 pint size jars and I am making more today!! Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Great base for a peach salsa recipe. I omitted the 3 1/2c sugar in favor of more hot peppers, a little more vinegar, added green and red peppers for more color and red onion. Added some salt to off set the 1/4c sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We LOVE this salsa! We cut back on the sugar like some had suggested (1 and 1/4 cups total) and it was perfect. My only question -- while it was still warm, the consistancy seemed just right. After being in the refrigerator, it was too thick and gel-like. I've never used pectin before. Would reducing the amount of pectin keep the salsa from becoming so thick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My friend gave me a box of peaches over the weekend and I didn't just want to can them. I made your salsa tonight and it is great! I have never used pectin before and it made the recipe! I got all the ingredients from my garden except the garlic and sugar. I was somewhat skeptical about the amount of sugar, but after it all boiled together it was perfect!I would like to enter your recipe in the state fair. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stony Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to recreate the famous Harry and David's peach salsa when I found this. My entire family says it is better than Harry and David's. It is very addictive especially with Nacho Doritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We loved this! I cut back on the sugar, 1 1/4 cup TOTAL, but kept everything else the same. I was a little bummed that it only gave me 2 pint size jars and a bit, so I ended up making another batch to round it up to 5 jars. It didn't fill the last jar so it is in the fridge cooling for later, yum yum! Overall, delicious! I can't wait for next peach season and I will quadruple the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I include 1 peeled, chopped mango and the juice of the lime too. Using red onion makes it even more colorful. Agree that less sugar & more vinegar gives it a bit more "zing" and we like it that way. It's great alongside grilled fish or chicken too. My kind of recipe; easy but impressive and versital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This salsa is really sweet and earthy tasting. I added a few extra jalepenos because mine were so incredibly mild. I also only use 3 1/2 cups of sugar instead of four, I think that's plenty. If you are looking for a spicier version of this, I'd suggest putting in a WHOLE lot more hot stuff. As it is, this is one of our favorite salsas- sweet, earthy and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States