Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was my first successful time making peach preserves. The other time I tried was disastrous because of having to skin them (no thanks). They came out really good and have a nice color. The recipe yielded 3 pints or 6 half pints. Instead of using 12 peaches (since the ones on our tree this year were tiny), I just kept pitting and cutting until I had like 7-8 cups of cut up peaches. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe and call them Cinnamon Peach Preserves. I also used liquid pectin instead of dry. And I reduced the sugar to 4 cups and it's still plenty sweet. I gave a jar to my neighbor and she loves them. It's great to have something to do with all the peaches on our tree now. Both my boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I love this recipe! So simple. No peeling of peaches. The peeling just melts away leaving a beautiful color. I canned peach preserves for the first time last year. Getting ready to start again. All the people I shared my preserves with said it was the best they ever had. Great on ice cream too! Thank you to whoever first shared this easy, fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fisherville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Made this with fresh peaches from our farmer's market. I slightly boiled my peaches with their skins on at first, to easily remove the skins about 10-15 minutes Then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I got so many compliments and people requesting that I make more, soon I will have to charge people for this jam...lol. Anyway, thanks for the fabulous recipe, it's like summer in a jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iggylover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I just finished making 42 half-pint jars of these peach preserves. This was my first time to make preserves, and I found this recipe quite easy for beginners. I loved that there is no peeling, no lemon squeezing, and no skimming to do. I think the secret to success is to be sure to bring the fruit and sugar mixture to a gentle boil that continues even when stirred, before adding the pectin. If you add the pectin too soon, your preserves may end up runny. Also, remember that this is a preserve recipe. Preserves don't set up like jelly. They should be about the consistency of honey. That's exactly what I got, and the flavor is wonderful! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
made this with small peaches from one of our trees - very good. mine is more red colored from the skins. I was worried it would be too sweet, but it is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was very good but a bit sweet for my taste. My peaches were very ripe though and full of there own sugars. I find that it make a great pancake syrup alternative. Due to the sweetness of it. Next time I will use a pectin that can jell with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Well, I'm sure this would've been great, if my pectin hadn't clumped! I followed the directions exactly, but ended up with clumps of pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Great recipe...I too had never made preserves before. I did cut the amount of sugar I used in half when I made the 2nd batch. Other than that, the feedback I've received from others has been flattering and positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I have made a few batches of this, and it is a great hit. I am having a bit of trouble getting it to set up, though. Mine came out thick enough to spread, but also thin enough to use on ice cream, or on pancakes and waffles. I have had wonderful response from this recipe and i also mixed some of the leftover peaches with blueberries and made a really good jam with this mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I've never made preserves or jam or anything similar before, but this was very easy and VERY delicious. Boxes of pectin that I found came in 1.75 oz sizes, so I just used 7/8 of the recipe (10 peaches, 5 1/4 C of the cooked peaches put back in the pan for the second part of the recipe, and the 1.75 oz of pectin). I used only 2 1/2 cups of sugar (about half what I should have used for my 7/8-of-the-recipe measurements) because the peaches were so sweet, and it turned out great. Definitely sweet enough, but I suppose it just depends on your fruit. I was a little worried when I saw the note about preserves being best when you use slightly under-ripe fruit, as my peaches were practically falling apart they were so ripe, but it seems to have turned out fine. And, as someone else noted, leaving the skins on gave it a lovely rosey color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States