Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Really a simple recipe but for those novice canners we need to include some canning basics also with the recipe. I found that it was too much sugar. I had 9 extra large peaches and only used 1 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar. Great taste with just the right about of sweetness. Have made 2 batches and will make more. Family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this yesterday, exactly like the directions said.. OMG it is delicious!! Even my husband who is not a big fan of peach preserves loved it. Thanks for a simple but great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeniewho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Thanks to Kevin for submitting this recipe. It had been about 20 years since I had canned anything. I was attracted to this recipe because it is simple and it calls for leaving the skins on the peaches. Great idea! My peaches were nicely ripened, but for some reason they did not liquify. After about an hour and a half of cooking, it was apparent they they were just not going to break down. At that point, I put them in a Blendtec blender and pulsed them, just two touches per batch. Then they were perfect, with lots of small pieces mixed through. I also made a few changes to suit our taste. My husband is diabetic, and I prefer less sugar. I used Ball's "No Sugar Required" pectin and used about 2 cups of sugar per batch instead of 4 1/2. I added fresh-squeezed lemon juice --- 1/2 lemon per batch -- and stirred in a small amount of cinnamon and fresh-ground nutmeg. It is absolutely delicious, the color is great, and the texture is just right too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
My sister is a peach FANATIC and said this is the best tasting peach preserves she's ever had... hands down! Will DEFINITELY make this again. Thanks for this simple, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Incredibly good! My family gobbled it up and I had to hide the jars for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie Mead

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Easy and awesome. Preserves are like honey but with some chunks in there. So good and fresh tasting....I will make this again...perhaps even tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Lovely color and consistency but way too sweet to eat. Recipe called for 4 1/2 cups sugar to 6 cups cooked underripe peaches. Used 4 cups of sugar to 6 cups of cooked ripe peaches. So sugary it could put someone in a coma! Had to toss the entire batch. If you decide to try this recipe, I recommend that you start with 2 cups of sugar, taste and add more sugar in 1/2 cup increments until you get to the desired sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Awesome, I made it with white peaches and skinned half of them and left half with peel. Nice pink color! I boiled them for 15 min. because we like it a little chunky. I used a pack of 1.75 oz. pectin and it was perfect. AWESOME! Not too much sugar, most recipes call for equal parts sugar and fruit, I like the less sugar (although, don't worry, its pretty sweet!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was my first time canning anything and thought I would start with this recipe. It was simple and fun... and a lot less work than other recipies I looked at. I too, added a cinnamon stick and some nutmeg while cooking the fruit and when I had about half of the fruit mixture canned, I added about one-half cup of roasted, peeled & chopped medium-heat green chilies to the second half and cooked for about another minute. What A Treat! The flavor and texture is wonderful... and being in the Southwest part of the US - fresh green chilies are a Must - in just about everything!! Thank you for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YumYumEatUmUp
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made 23 8 oz. jars of this recipe today, and it came out Great! Delicious, so FRUITY and so MUCH better than what you buy at the supermarkets! I made sure to toss the boiled jar of preserves BACK into the boiling water if it had a "Clinking" sound when I ran my finger over the top of the jar.I knew if it didnt have that HARD tap to it, it wasnt vacuum sealed properly enough just yet.When I threw it back in the second time, I made sure to let it sit for another 15 minutes, & it worked great.This is a GREAT recipe, and its the very first time I have ever made Peach preserves! Not too runny, honey consistency, just PERFECT! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I will always make this A big fan of it now in Long Island, New York :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumYumEatUmUp

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States