Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Our first time canning peaches. The recipe worked great. We made 4 batches. The peaches were ripe and sweet so we used the following for each batch: 10 cups chopped peaches equaled 6 cups cooked (every time), 2 cups organic sugar, 1 pkg 1.75 oz. pectin. For spiced peaches we added 2 cinnamon sticks, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cloves. Added the cin. sticks at the beginning of the 20 minute boil and added the nutmeg and cloves in the last five minutes of the boil. The spiced peach preserves are a spoonful of heaven - tastes like Christmas. We give this five stars all around - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Added twice the pectin and used 2 additional cups of cooked peaches (total of 8). This made it thicker and not as sweet. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I really liked this recipe, the strange part was that the video said 4 1/2 cups of sugar as well as 2 1/2 cups of sugar. Based on other reviews I did the 2 1/2 cups and it was perfect. I would have given this 5 stars but as written the recipe would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good recipe, I cut the sugar drastically (about 1/2) the second time I made these, and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used double the peaches or so because mine were small. I also cut down the sugar by 1/2 a cup but, it was still a little too sweet for me. It was good however, on top of biscuits. I think the little saltiness from the biscuits made a good balance. Overall, my family really liked it. I even had my aunt ask for the recipe. I think it's worth a try and then from there you could tweak it to however you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is one of my favorite preserves! The recipe is very easy to follow and it turns out great! If for some reason someone is having issues with it setting I would recommend adding pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I had a bumper crop of peaches this year and needed a preserve recipe. I also had low sugar pectin and only used 2 cups sugar for 6 cups of peaches and it was perfect. Not overly sweet and allowed the peach flavor to come through. This is the only preserve recipe I will use for now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Just made last night. Oh my gosh , Yummy! I had about 8 cups of peaches so I used a little more sugar everything else the same. Oops I did add some cinnamon and nutmeg. A little thin but who care it's really good. Had it on home made bread for breakfast . Thanks for a great recipe. By the way no signs of the skin in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this using half of the sugar in the recipe and it was still too sweet. I'll use the recipe again but reduce the sugar to 2 cups at the most. I also added 1 tsp of allspice and 3 tsp. of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have fresh peaches should I try this or another one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States